The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 19, 2014, 01:44pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Shallow infield popup... can o' corn catch situation, F2 removes her mask (doesn't toss it) ball comes down, skips off her glove, she corrals it in her arms, ends up in the mask, then she dumps it into her mitt and shows control.

Situation 2; at the last second, sun gets in her eyes, ball never touches the mitt, ball lands down in her arms close to the body, rolls into the (still held) mask, dumps it into the mitt to show control.

Are these both examples of detached equipment infractions?
The rule requires the fielder to show intent to contact the ball with detached equipment. So I would say there is no infraction here.

However, the FED definition of Catch in rule 2-9 says that any equipment used that is not in its proper place will negate the validity of a catch. So in both of your examples, the catcher will not receive credit for legally catching the popups.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why the Seeming Discrepancy? Freddy Basketball 2 Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:23am
point discrepancy Putty Basketball 18 Sat Jan 13, 2007 02:32am
ASA UNIFORMS & EQUIP. chuck chopper Softball 13 Tue Oct 18, 2005 06:35pm
Pitch Lodged in Umpire's Equip @ HP isneths Baseball 5 Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:48am
Detached Equip - Ball foul BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1