![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Situation:
ASA tournament, dugouts have openings on both ends. R1 bunts, F2 fields ball and makes short throw that bounces off F3's glove, heading towards 1st base dug- out. I am PU. Partner is on outside to make the call. Realizing he cannot run through or around the play in time to reach 2B, hollars, "take two". Runner has gone around towards 2B, coach hearing partners remarks, tells her to go to 2B. Meantime F3 has retrived the ball and puts the tag on R1 who is leisurely headed for 2B. BU bangs her out. Coach at 1B asks for time and talks to partner, who then calls me for meet. After a brief discussion, I award R1 1B. My reasoning is that because of the matter in which my partner yelled "take two" without adding prefix "Pard, take two", player and coach thought he was advancing R1 because ball might have gone into dead ball terrority. I only changed the call when partner said he also yelled "no, no, no" adding more confussion. By his actions I felt that we as umpires, had confussed the issue. Did I make the correct call? I thought so at the time. glen
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
Bookmarks |
|
|