The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2003, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Cool Memory don't fail me now...

It has been a few years since ASA. But... I believe a BR cannot back away from advancing to 1st (can stop but cannot back-up).

Sounds like the runner gave up his opportunity to advance and should have been called out when he first abandoned any effort to advance.

FED rules are different. 8-2-4 "The Batter-Runner shall be called out when: The BR fails to advance to first base and enters the team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls, or on a hit batter... [therefore not out until the BR enters the dugout area].

Someone will correct my ASA interpretation if wrong.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1