The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Are you saying the timing play signal is given for that purpose as well? Or are you saying there is another signal that is sometimes given to inform partners of this situation?

Either way, I cannot ever remember anyone telling me in a class, clinic, or critique that a signal exists to do this.
I've never heard it in any clinics either. I just put this in the "bonus" category for flashing a two out signal that may provide information for the crew:
a.) timing play is on
b.) IFF is off
c.) U3K is on
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 02:32pm
Stirrer of the Pot

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I've been using a "two out signal" since 1966. I hold up two fingers as I raise my right hand above head level.
And as your partner, I'd be wondering why the batter already has an 0-2 count.

"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
I've been using a "two out signal" since 1966. I hold up two fingers as I raise my right hand above head level.
I know of a few umpires that would be thinking IRISHMAFIA is buying the first two rounds outta da bar when the game/s over.
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member

So, you guys don't know how to give the out count? You must really struggle when you have to use both hands for balls and strikes.
Old Fri Nov 08, 2013, 07:25am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
So, you guys don't know how to give the out count? You must really struggle when you have to use both hands for balls and strikes.