The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 01, 2013, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
pitcher throws pitch backwards

I was working a game the other night and with no runners on, 1-0 count, pitcher starts to pitch, well, she ended up throwing the ball backwards, as in, she "pitched" it to 2nd base. Ball just slipped from her hand as she was at the top of her windmill.

I've never seen any rule to cover that, so I just added a ball to the count and we played on. Didn't get any complaints from any coaches. Was that the correct call? What if there were runners on base?

I know in Baseball, this would be a balk, but in Softball, would this just be an illegal pitch and add a ball to the count and advance each runner one base?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 01, 2013, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Its not an illegal pitch, its just a pitched ball that slipped out of the pitchers hand. It is a live ball, and if runners are on base they are free to advance at their own risk. And yes it is a ball on the batter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 02, 2013, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bniu View Post
I was working a game the other night and with no runners on, 1-0 count, pitcher starts to pitch, well, she ended up throwing the ball backwards, as in, she "pitched" it to 2nd base. Ball just slipped from her hand as she was at the top of her windmill.

I've never seen any rule to cover that, so I just added a ball to the count and we played on. Didn't get any complaints from any coaches. Was that the correct call? What if there were runners on base?

I know in Baseball, this would be a balk, but in Softball, would this just be an illegal pitch and add a ball to the count and advance each runner one base?
For ASA, it is 6FP.11. "If the ball slips from the pitcher's hand during the delivery, a ball is declared on the batter, the ball will remain live and the runner(s) may advance at their own risk"
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 04, 2013, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
I had F1 do this this past weekend. There were no runners on but the offensive coach is holding his hands out like what do we do? I laughed to myself because this was discussed this week. It seems like if you talk about it, it will happen soon.

First time that I have had F1 lose the ball backwards. I have F1 have the pitch come off at an angle but not ever backwards.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 04, 2013, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
I had F1 do this this past weekend. There were no runners on but the offensive coach is holding his hands out like what do we do? I laughed to myself because this was discussed this week. It seems like if you talk about it, it will happen soon.

First time that I have had F1 lose the ball backwards. I have F1 have the pitch come off at an angle but not ever backwards.
Now, if the batter squared to bunt and did not pull the bat back.......
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2013, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Now, if the batter squared to bunt and did not pull the bat back.......
I'll see your
and I raise you
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Now, if the batter squared to bunt and did not pull the bat back.......
Chances are if you wait long enough, the batter will pull it back before the ball reaches the vicinity of the strike zone!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 22, 2013, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
But if you reeeeealy need that strike, you know like in a two hour long JV game and it's way after beer-30....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shortstop throws warmup pitch RogersUmp Baseball 20 Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:13pm
LL Pitch count ambidextrous pitcher wbrown Baseball 2 Mon Mar 16, 2009 09:34am
Starting pitcher reentering the game to pitch?? oyaisee Baseball 32 Thu Nov 08, 2007 05:57am
Backwards Title IX at it again TriggerMN Basketball 97 Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:35am
Pitcher throws to fielder not even close to the bag spots101 Baseball 4 Wed May 29, 2002 11:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1