![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
That'd be the "aw, shucks", I fergot I gotta attend an advanced camp post.
#5 as described is nicknamed such for the infamous ASA "chute" play. That is why they call U3 the "rabbit". When you see race horses or race dogs at the track, rodeo, iditarod, whatever, the animals come firing outa their chutes at the starting gate and move like bat outa hell. In ASA, U3 has to "shoot" outa the chute to cover the BR on said #5 chute play when U1 chases with no runners on. In NCAA, PU takes that BR because PU is already trailing. This play is a 3-man mechanics play, something apparently taught at so called advance camp. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This is BASIC 3-man in ASA. One of perhaps 5 sentences I would give a newbie thrust into 3-man with no notice for the very first time.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
He asked, I answered.
It has been asked more than once. No one else wanted to answer. That is nonsense. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This (the "chute") is absolutely not an advanced mechanic. In fact, it's one of the very first things you need to learn, right after "where to start" depending on where runners are.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Its just a name given to a play for 3-man mechanics, it was asked and explained why it is endearingly named as such and the difference between ASA and NCAA. Where did you learn it and why didn't you just answer it simply when asked?
Over moderating and over officiating are similar failures. If you can't resist a knee jerk white knuckle reaction, you can take it off-line. Or, you coulda simply answered the question better yourself and saved your aggravation. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
In non-NCAA softball, U3 has to cover the BR when U1 chases with no runners on.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Since you asked, and FWIW, the LL Field Mechanics Manual for the 60' diamond calls for U3 to go into the working area, but be responsible for the BR touching first, any play back to first on the BR, and any plays on the BR at second and third.
The problem is, the "working area" is defined as a rectangular area behind the pitcher's mound/circle. The manual doesn't require U3 to go all the way to get to that 10'-12' point as taught in ASA. It's going to be tough for U3 to make a call from this working area on a throwback to first base should the BR turn wide. Oh, the manual also says the PU should stay in foul territory and drift toward third base. It doesn't have the PU trailing the BR to first should U1 chase a trouble ball. Go figure...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As a plate umpire in that system, I would read if my U3 got a bad jump, or appeared unlikely to get in a good calling position; I might communicate a deviation on that play .
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Lessons Learned Again | ranjo | Basketball | 1 | Tue Dec 20, 2005 05:32pm |
| Lessons learned | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 22, 2003 10:12pm |
| Lessons Learned | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 27, 2002 01:31pm |
| Lessons learned | physicsref | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 17, 2002 05:52pm |
| Lessons Learned | cmcallm | Baseball | 13 | Mon Nov 27, 2000 06:10pm |