The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 21, 2013, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Routine batted ball to F4 who has an easy play for the out at first. Just as F4 fields the ball, a ball from another field lands in the infield. F4 goes ahead and makes the play for the out.

Do you a)allow the out, as it was routine, b)call dead ball, award batter first, c)call dead ball and send the batter back to bat, or d)say it is not my problem but the other umpire's to sort out?
The rule is not super clear in the copy of the rulebook I have digitally. Hopefully it's been edited since then. But it's 8-5-L and the effect is simply a dead ball. I think the effect from M was meant to be attached. When you have spectator interference, you rule as to what would have happened and do that. The rules supplement seems to suggest the same. In this case, I don't think it applies because to interfere you have to interfere with a play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1