The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 12, 2013, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Secondary question. In my case, it was very clear that there could have been a play made.

Looking at the rule in the ASA book, it says "until the ball passes an infielder except the pitcher."

How would you handle this situation.

F4 and F6 are playing normal positions behind the base path. Runner on batter hits a line drive up the middle a two steps to the 3b side of second. The runner from second takes a step off the base and gets hit by the line drive. The SS, who is still behind the play had no chance to get the ball.

Am I correct in saying that based on 8-7-K the runner is still out? The ball had not passed an infielder, but at the same time, there was no play to be made.

After the game I heard the defensive team manager telling his team that anytime a batter ball hits a runner off the base, it is an out. I did not tell them that that wasn't true. A batted ball can hit a runner off the base and no out be called.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the correct call? natesmith Baseball 3 Thu May 21, 2009 07:10am
Correct call? Monguila Baseball 56 Fri Aug 01, 2008 02:23pm
Correct call ? RefTip Basketball 15 Tue Mar 06, 2007 09:18am
Was this the correct call LouisianaDave Basketball 10 Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm
What's the correct call? coachsara Softball 1 Mon Sep 26, 2005 03:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1