The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Trivia (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95252-trivia.html)

nopachunts Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 897156)
Dead ball. R2 is out for leaving early on the pitch. Game is over

Where did that one come from? :)

celebur Tue Jun 11, 2013 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897158)
Not if R2 has already scored.

But has R2 already scored? Is a runner allowed to score ahead of a preceding runner?

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 11, 2013 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by celebur (Post 897169)
But has R2 already scored? Is a runner allowed to score ahead of a preceding runner?

I grant this scenario is odd. TWP even. However, based on the rules I read, I see nothing preventing it. Do you?

Given that this would never really happen, and if it did, most umpires would likely "sell" some call that coaches would believe. But if it did, as odd as it sounds, I believe we have 2 runs here.

R2 did not pass anyone - no out there.
R2 scores, so no longer a force on R1.
R1 scores - she had to be tagged for her to be out.

2 runs - and run to your car.

okla21fan Tue Jun 11, 2013 02:20pm

Please explain how a force can be taken off, when R2 has not been put out? :D

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 11, 2013 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by okla21fan (Post 897172)
Please explain how a force can be taken off, when R2 has not been put out? :D

Conceptually...
A force exists because the existence of a BR causes other runners to vacate their base and try to achieve the next one. If a runner is not forced to advance because of the existence of runners behind them having to take their bases, then they are not forced.

It's exactly the same as when a succeeding runner is put out. Example: Bases loaded, R2 is put out before reaching 3rd ... obviously R1 is no longer forced... it's common sense - she no longer has someone who must achieve the base behind her. Why would one be different than the other?

okla21fan Tue Jun 11, 2013 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897174)
Conceptually...
A force exists because the existence of a BR causes other runners to vacate their base and try to achieve the next one. If a runner is not forced to advance because of the existence of runners behind them having to take their bases, then they are not forced.

It's exactly the same as when a succeeding runner is put out. Example: Bases loaded, R2 is put out before reaching 3rd ... obviously R1 is no longer forced... it's common sense - she no longer has someone who must achieve the base behind her. Why would one be different than the other?

because one fits the definition for removing the force on a runner (preceding runner being put out). the other does not. (and not exactly the same)

R1 is still forced to advance only we can show a citation. (and from the OP, the third out was still a result of a force out, and no runs can score.... no matter what the timing is when they scored)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 11, 2013 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897158)
R2 didn't leave early, even if you, in retrospect, wished that she did. :)

Not if R2 has already scored.

The OP stated left with the pitch. Runners cannot leave until the ball reaches the plate.

I stand by my call. :p

CecilOne Tue Jun 11, 2013 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 897191)
The OP stated left with the pitch. Runners cannot leave until the ball reaches the plate.

I stand by my call. :p

I assumed fast pitch, apparently so did others. :rolleyes:

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 11, 2013 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 897197)
I assumed fast pitch, apparently so did others. :rolleyes:

You did WHAT?!?! :eek:

Gulf Coast Blue Wed Jun 12, 2013 03:18am

Runs must be scored in the correct order. A trailing runner cannot score prior to the lead runner.

That is my story and I am sticking to it.

MD Longhorn Wed Jun 12, 2013 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue (Post 897208)
Runs must be scored in the correct order. A trailing runner cannot score prior to the lead runner.

That is my story and I am sticking to it.

Rule cite?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897221)
Rule cite?

C'mon, he said it was a story. Do you ask Sleeping Beauty the name of the matchmaking service that sent over Prince Charming? :rolleyes:

DeputyUICHousto Wed Jun 12, 2013 01:39pm

I posed a similar question to a National Staff Member,
 
You cannot get the runner for passing another runner as that can only be called if the entire body is past the runner. Didn't happen here...I believe you score both runs.

nopachunts Wed Jun 12, 2013 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897118)
Bottom of the 7th, Visitors up by 1. Bases loaded, 2 outs, full count. R2 and R3 are off on the pitch, R1 from third taking a regular lead. The ball is hit to shallow left who has a cannon arm. F7 fires home.

R2 and R1 arrive near the plate almost simultaneously, R2 sprinting, R1 jogging, unaware the ball is coming. R2 slides and touches plate just before F2 catches the ball and steps on the plate, which happens just before R1 touches the plate. As R2 is sliding, her head is behind R1's feet.

Ruling? Who wins, if anyone?

If R2 is not out for passing R1 because her entire body has not passed R1, I have R1 forced at the plate for the third out, visitors win. No run is scored as R1 was forced at HP.

MD Longhorn, you really found a LARGE can of worms.

Manny A Wed Jun 12, 2013 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897221)
Rule cite?

ASA 10-1
NFHS 10-2-3g
NCAA 15.2

Seriously, there's no way in hell I'm allowing R1 to score AFTER R2 has touched the plate. I fully accept the definition of passing a runner, but that should not apply when it comes to touching home plate.

Home plate is treated differently with respect to runners touching it than other bases. If R1 passes but fails to touch any other base, and then R2 touches it, R1 still has the opportunity to correct the miss by having R2 reverse track (and touch again) that base, and then R1 touches it. The same is not true at home plate.

You can't have it both ways here. Either you recognize that in this unusual circumstance R2 passed R1, so that R2 is out, or R2 didn't pass R1, which means R1 is still forced at home and is out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1