The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Illegal Pitch (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95196-illegal-pitch.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 02, 2013 08:41pm

Illegal Pitch
 
PU called Tennessee catcher for stepping out of the CB prior to the pitcher delivering the ball.

It was a pitch-out for an intentional walk to set up a force out, but the IP allowed the walk, but also moved the runner to 3B taking away the force at any base.

I want to see a replay because I don't think she was completely outside the box.

RKBUmp Sun Jun 02, 2013 08:50pm

I saw the replays they showed on TV and it looked like her foot was on the outside edge of the line.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 02, 2013 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 896398)
I saw the replays they showed on TV and it looked like her foot was on the outside edge of the line.

That's what I thought. I assume the NCAA handles lines to the CB the same as others, on the line equals in the box, circle, etc.

EsqUmp Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:00pm

I would not bet my life that no portion of her foot was on the line at the time of the pitch. No chance in hell that I am calling that.

roadking Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 896399)
That's what I thought. I assume the NCAA handles lines to the CB the same as others, on the line equals in the box, circle, etc.

HP has good look down at the line, cant believe he's looking for the call!
Not a great look on replay angle.
Whats up with the communication device HP was using under the back stop mats? Was it to notify the press box?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking (Post 896403)
HP has good look down at the line, cant believe he's looking for the call!
Not a great look on replay angle.
Whats up with the communication device HP was using under the back stop mats? Was it to notify the press box?

Assuming you are referring to the ball return box (not in use for this tournament) over the umpires right shoulder, it is a phone to the press box. Used to be a princess phone, don't know if they have updated recently.

shipwreck Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 896399)
That's what I thought. I assume the NCAA handles lines to the CB the same as others, on the line equals in the box, circle, etc.

NCAA rule 6.5.2 states The catcher must be within the catcher's box from the time the pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate until the pitch is released. No part of the catcher's feet may be outside the lines until the pitch is released. Effect - illegal pitch. I don't care what camera angle anyone uses, the catcher's foot was clearly at least partly out of the box. Good call. I had this myself a couple of years ago and ruled the same.
Dave

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 896411)
NCAA rule 6.5.2 states The catcher must be within the catcher's box from the time the pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate until the pitch is released. No part of the catcher's feet may be outside the lines until the pitch is released. Effect - illegal pitch. So if the camera showed correctly, good call. I had this myself a couple of years ago and ruled the same.
Dave

You know what is humorous, ASA makes the same note for the SP games, but not the FP game. Go figure.

shipwreck Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:39pm

That is funny.

roadking Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:56pm

Yep,
I assumed foot had to be outside the line.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 03, 2013 06:42am

Personally, IMO, the umpire was picking a nit.

CecilOne Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 896411)
NCAA rule 6.5.2 states The catcher must be within the catcher's box from the time the pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate until the pitch is released. No part of the catcher's feet may be outside the lines until the pitch is released. Effect - illegal pitch. I don't care what camera angle anyone uses, the catcher's foot was clearly at least partly out of the box. Good call. I had this myself a couple of years ago and ruled the same.
Dave

So, the rule is like batter's box, entire foot must be inside the lines; although OOO.

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 896444)
So, the rule is like batter's box, entire foot must be inside the lines; although OOO.

More specifically, it's like the rule about where the feet must be before the pitch (inside or touching the lines, but nothing touching outside), although not where it must be when the ball is hit (touching the lines, MAY be touching outside).

jmkupka Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:24am

Related question...
 
Speaking ASA (& PONY if anybody's out there), Catcher may set up anywhere as long as they are in the catcher's box, but are they allowed to be standing straight up, ala MLB?

CecilOne Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 896445)
More specifically, it's like the rule about where the feet must be before the pitch (inside or touching the lines, but nothing touching outside), although not where it must be when the ball is hit (touching the lines, MAY be touching outside).

That is of course what I meant, without elucidating any further on the analogy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1