The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
If the defense while on the base appeals that the runner has only touched the white bag or more importantly missed the colored bag
it would be a proper live ball appeal and the BR would be out.
This disagrees with what the rest of us are saying.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
This disagrees with what the rest of us are saying.
Which is why I like discussion on this board!

The runner is required (if a play is being made) to touch the colored portion of the bag. I've often heard this taught as treating it just like missing the base. So I was thinking that you could still appeal until the runner corrected her mistake and touched the colored bag... much like if a runner slid to 2B but missed it the defense could appeal missing the base by tagging the base unless the runner returns first. (Sure they will probably just tag the runner off base, but in theory they could.) But the double base is different....

Rereading double base rules in both ASA and NFHS the timeframe for appeal ends when the runner returns to the base. The important part that I missed was that both rule sets specify they may return to either the white or the colored portion of the double base. So as my brothers have stated since she never left the base then she has "returned" so remaining on the white is just fine.

Really the only penalty for sliding into the white would be if somehow this slide interfered with the throw.

Proof that you can drink beer, watch NCAA ball on TV, watch it snow outside, and still learn something all at the same time!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
Which is why I like discussion on this board!

The runner is required (if a play is being made) to touch the colored portion of the bag. I've often heard this taught as treating it just like missing the base. So I was thinking that you could still appeal until the runner corrected her mistake and touched the colored bag... much like if a runner slid to 2B but missed it the defense could appeal missing the base by tagging the base unless the runner returns first. (Sure they will probably just tag the runner off base, but in theory they could.) But the double base is different....

Rereading double base rules in both ASA and NFHS the timeframe for appeal ends when the runner returns to the base. The important part that I missed was that both rule sets specify they may return to either the white or the colored portion of the double base. So as my brothers have stated since she never left the base then she has "returned" so remaining on the white is just fine.

Really the only penalty for sliding into the white would be if somehow this slide interfered with the throw.
Okay, speaking ASA, look at it this way. When the BR reaches 1B, the player is no longer a BR. For the R, the color of the portions is irrelevant.

What are you going to do if your partner suspends play and then you get an appeal and the runner STILL hasn't moved off the white? Your stance that the runner hasn't returned is still true, but are you going to accept the appeal? Same criteria you are basing your ruling upon still exists.

Now comes the part I hate the most, but this would come up in a discussion on the rule. "But Blue, the purpose of the rule is to avoid the possibility of a collision and that is just what my runner did by sliding. So, you are going to penalize my guy for doing something for the safety of the other player?"

It is a bullshit argument, but I can hear it now.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 01:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Yep, your right. Never had issue where BR slid in to 1B and the portion of the base she slid to was questioned. Good discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Okay, speaking ASA, look at it this way. When the BR reaches 1B, the player is no longer a BR. For the R, the color of the portions is irrelevant.

What are you going to do if your partner suspends play and then you get an appeal and the runner STILL hasn't moved off the white? Your stance that the runner hasn't returned is still true, but are you going to accept the appeal? Same criteria you are basing your ruling upon still exists.
I'm not getting your point.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
Which is why I like discussion on this board!

The runner is required (if a play is being made) to touch the colored portion of the bag. I've often heard this taught as treating it just like missing the base. So I was thinking that you could still appeal until the runner corrected her mistake and touched the colored bag... much like if a runner slid to 2B but missed it the defense could appeal missing the base by tagging the base unless the runner returns first. (Sure they will probably just tag the runner off base, but in theory they could.) But the double base is different....

Rereading double base rules in both ASA and NFHS the timeframe for appeal ends when the runner returns to the base. The important part that I missed was that both rule sets specify they may return to either the white or the colored portion of the double base. So as my brothers have stated since she never left the base then she has "returned" so remaining on the white is just fine.

Really the only penalty for sliding into the white would be if somehow this slide interfered with the throw.

Proof that you can drink beer, watch NCAA ball on TV, watch it snow outside, and still learn something all at the same time!
Nice of you to update, and well worded.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Nice of you to update, and well worded.
Well, in all honesty, I think the beer helped.

And on a brighter note..our May snow which fell all afternoon yesterday and last night has quit and seems to be melting. I hope tomorrow is sun, we're gonna need it if my Monday night games are gonna happen!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
Well, in all honesty, I think the beer helped.

And on a brighter note..our May snow which fell all afternoon yesterday and last night has quit and seems to be melting. I hope tomorrow is sun, we're gonna need it if my Monday night games are gonna happen!
Where in Alaska are you, Anchorage, Fairbanks areas or coastal?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 18, 2013, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Where in Alaska are you, Anchorage, Fairbanks areas or coastal?
I'm in Anchorage. We had two big storms in April two weeks before our high school season was to start. In Anchorage we got started a week and a half late, while teams in Fairbanks (who also had a lot of late snow) had their first opportunities to play outdoors at their first game which was an away game down here!

Then we had snow on May 5 and lost that whole day, now another freaky May snowstorm this weekend. (It is May, right??)

Our entire high school season is only five weeks long so losing the equivalent of two weeks really hurts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sliding Question Spence Baseball 31 Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:54am
ASA JO Sliding bwbuddy Softball 7 Sat Jun 09, 2007 07:32am
sliding short bethsdad Softball 3 Mon Feb 23, 2004 06:04am
Sliding on the floor.... ace Basketball 6 Sun Jan 04, 2004 01:14am
Sliding? LIBLUE Softball 2 Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1