![]() |
Sliding into first with a double bag?
Close play at first base, the runner decides to slides and slides into the white bag. The umpire calls her safe. My understanding the is the "safety" is there to avoid a collision and unless you are turning to go to second base, the runner needs to use the safety bag. Did he make the right call?
|
If a batter/runner goes to the white portion of the bag, it is an appeal that must be made by the defense prior to the batter/runner returning to the base. Since the player slid into the base and is still there, there is no appeal to be made before they can return.
|
The runner never got up and it stirred up controversy when it got questioned immediately after the play. All the umpire kept saying was she has the right to slide. I agrees but what bag should she had slid into?
|
The batter/runner is suppose to go to the colored portion of the bag, but, if they dont it is an appeal the defense must make before the runner returns to the base. Since the batter/runner slid into the base and never left it there really isnt anything to appeal.
|
Quote:
If the defense while on the base appeals that the runner has only touched the white bag or more importantly missed the colored bag it would be a proper live ball appeal and the BR would be out. If the BR touches the colored bag or if a pitch is thrown or a play attempted (etc.) before a proper appeal is made it is too late and there is no penalty for sliding into the wrong bag. (Edited Fri 05/17/2013)Whoops! The red text above is wrong as you will see if you read the rest of the thread. If the runner slides into the white, and never passes 1B, and does not interfere with the defensive player taking a throw at 1B, you have nothing and the offense has no time available to appeal the BR not hitting the colored portion. |
Should the BR have been called out because she slid into the white or does it not matter what bag they slid into?
|
That has already been answered. It is an appeal play the defense must properly appeal. The umpire cannot just call the runner out for going to the wrong portion of the base, the defense must appeal it prior to the runner returning to the base. If the runner never left the base to begin with, there is nothing to appeal.
|
Quote:
|
Sliding into the base or running into it is no difference in the rules, except that the runner stays on the base, (presumably :rolleyes:).
The "turning to go to second base" is not part of the rule. Neither is the wording "avoid a collision"; although that is the result. The rule is only about whether there is a play on the BR at 1st. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
And
Once the batter/runner has achieved first base the entire base becomes one big base. No appeal to made therefore no out.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am. |