The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Obstruction question

Similar to the obstruction trivia question.

R1 on 1b, B2 hits a line drive to 3B which is caught. R1 is running on the pitch and is run into by F3 knocking her to the ground. R1 then gets up and makes it to second.

a) The 1b coach is yelling at R1 to come back to 1b. As she leaves second base to return to 1b, F5 throws back to F3 who touches 1b.

b) The ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle. As the coach comes out request time for a dead ball appea), the 1b coach yells at R1 who starts running back to 1b. The pitcher does not see this and holds the ball. The umpire does not grant time.

c) The ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle. As the coach comes out request time for a dead ball appeal, the 1b coach yells at R1 who starts running back to 1b. The pitcher does not see this and holds the ball. The umpire does grant time to the coach.

d) The ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle who then appeals verbally the BU that R1 left base early

What is the call and what is the award in each scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
A depends on the ruleset.
B and C are the same, an out (and a dead ball) occurs when the runner leaves 2nd base while the ball is in the pitching circle. The time out is irrelevant as it occurred after the runner is out.
D - a verbal appeal like this cannot be made during live ball action. At some point, when it's apparent that play has ceased, the umpire needs to call time, and announce the award of first base to the obstructed runner. If she goes back, she's safe. If she doesn't, we can then entertain a dead ball appeal at first base for leaving early.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 03:11pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
D - a verbal appeal like this cannot be made during live ball action. At some point, when it's apparent that play has ceased, the umpire needs to call time, and announce the award of first base to the obstructed runner. If she goes back, she's safe. If she doesn't, we can then entertain a dead ball appeal at first base for leaving early.
Whoa, hang on a second. Why would the umpire award first base to R1 here? She was obstructed heading to second, and never made an attempt to return. With no attempt to return, how can she be awarded the base?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Whoa, hang on a second. Why would the umpire award first base to R1 here? She was obstructed heading to second, and never made an attempt to return. With no attempt to return, how can she be awarded the base?
So you propose what? Umpire, who has signaled OBS, does nothing while everyone waits to see what he's going to rule? Let me ask ... what would YOU do on this exact play? You can't call an out, but you must make an award since you signalled OBS.

On ANY obstruction, when play stops (whether because runners have stopped and the ball's in the circle, or because someone tagged out the OBS's runner before they reached their award base), you announce the award. Granted --- 90% of the time, the award is the base they are standing on... but you should do it anyway - this gives them the opportunity they are granted by rule to correct any previous baserunning duties.

Heck ... to be honest, when we award bases, we don't take into account any transgressions - so awarding SECOND might even be more correct - since it was likely she would (and did) reach 2nd absent the obstruction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Also to add... as far as leaving early goes on obstruction, our job is the same whether she left early by 15 seconds (i.e. while the ball was still on the way up) or by half a second (simply left too early).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
So you propose what? Umpire, who has signaled OBS, does nothing while everyone waits to see what he's going to rule? Let me ask ... what would YOU do on this exact play? You can't call an out, but you must make an award since you signalled OBS.

On ANY obstruction, when play stops (whether because runners have stopped and the ball's in the circle, or because someone tagged out the OBS's runner before they reached their award base), you announce the award. Granted --- 90% of the time, the award is the base they are standing on... but you should do it anyway - this gives them the opportunity they are granted by rule to correct any previous baserunning duties.

Heck ... to be honest, when we award bases, we don't take into account any transgressions - so awarding SECOND might even be more correct - since it was likely she would (and did) reach 2nd absent the obstruction.
I'm going to disagree with you here, Mike....

Even though the runner was obstructed, she is still required to run the bases legally and is subject to appeal for any base running infractions. From what you are saying, it sounds as if you believe that the obstruction absolves her of the requirement to tag up on the caught fly ball?

Why does your answer to Sit A (the live ball appeal) depend on the ruleset?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I'm going to disagree with you here, Mike....

Even though the runner was obstructed, she is still required to run the bases legally and is subject to appeal for any base running infractions. From what you are saying, it sounds as if you believe that the obstruction absolves her of the requirement to tag up on the caught fly ball?

Why does your answer to Sit A (the live ball appeal) depend on the ruleset?
A) ASA, out. FED, if the obstruction occurs while the runner is returning, and not advancing, the runner is safe.

That said, you state that I believe the OBS absolves her... I do not believe that at all. Without inferring my opinion from what I said, which part, exactly, do you disagree with and why?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 09:24am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
So you propose what? Umpire, who has signaled OBS, does nothing while everyone waits to see what he's going to rule? Let me ask ... what would YOU do on this exact play? You can't call an out, but you must make an award since you signalled OBS.

On ANY obstruction, when play stops (whether because runners have stopped and the ball's in the circle, or because someone tagged out the OBS's runner before they reached their award base), you announce the award. Granted --- 90% of the time, the award is the base they are standing on... but you should do it anyway - this gives them the opportunity they are granted by rule to correct any previous baserunning duties.

Heck ... to be honest, when we award bases, we don't take into account any transgressions - so awarding SECOND might even be more correct - since it was likely she would (and did) reach 2nd absent the obstruction.
I would leave her at second base. She was obstructed while heading there, and she made it. Her failing to tag up properly is an infraction that, at least in FED ball, provides her protection between the two bases where the obstruction occurred only if the obstruction happened as she was returning to her TOP base.

That said, I'm not sure there's even a need to announce an award, is there? If a runner is obstructed, but the obstruction doesn't affect the outcome of the play, are we still supposed to call time and announce anything?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 10:03am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
That said, I'm not sure there's even a need to announce an award, is there? If a runner is obstructed, but the obstruction doesn't affect the outcome of the play, are we still supposed to call time and announce anything?
I think Mike is correct in that by announcing the OBS and the award the runner know has the right and the responsibility to legally complete her running duties ( retouching the base she left early from ). If the runner does not she can be called out on appeal.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I would leave her at second base. She was obstructed while heading there, and she made it. Her failing to tag up properly is an infraction that, at least in FED ball, provides her protection between the two bases where the obstruction occurred only if the obstruction happened as she was returning to her TOP base.

That said, I'm not sure there's even a need to announce an award, is there? If a runner is obstructed, but the obstruction doesn't affect the outcome of the play, are we still supposed to call time and announce anything?
A lot of umpires do not. And then they DO in this exact situation where the OBS'd runner has duties to complete. The problem there is that you're tipping your hand. I agree it looks odd sometimes to announce an award that has already been achieved by the baserunner. And if you think you can get away with it, that's your call and you're certainly not alone.

But in THIS case - you MUST announce that award because by rule this baserunner has not just the opportunity but the obligation to complete her baserunning duties.

You're probably right that my initial post awarding first was flat wrong... the award is second, like you say.

As goofy as it looks or feels, you kill it when play is obviously done and the defense is not going to play on the runner. You announce the OBS and the award. If they look at you crazy, and the runner does nothing, the defense can then appeal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I would leave her at second base. She was obstructed while heading there, and she made it. Her failing to tag up properly is an infraction that, at least in FED ball, provides her protection between the two bases where the obstruction occurred only if the obstruction happened as she was returning to her TOP base.
She made it because of the violation.
Quote:
That said, I'm not sure there's even a need to announce an award, is there? If a runner is obstructed, but the obstruction doesn't affect the outcome of the play, are we still supposed to call time and announce anything?
Always announce a violation if it was in effect. If the award is where the runner is presently located, just note the runner stays there.

Couple reasons to do that. One is to let them know that you are watching and you know the rule. Another is to let the coaches know you have made a decision as to where the runner should be. If they don't agree, they will argue anyway, but you have indicated that you did see the violation and made an award, not that you are using it or ignoring it as an afterthought to protect yourself.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction Question bucblue Baseball 6 Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:44pm
Obstruction question JJ Baseball 53 Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:02pm
Obstruction Question BigUmp56 Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 04:20pm
Yet Another Obstruction Question Striker991 Baseball 2 Mon May 05, 2003 02:47pm
Obstruction question David Emerling Baseball 21 Fri Dec 07, 2001 05:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1