View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 11:48am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I would leave her at second base. She was obstructed while heading there, and she made it. Her failing to tag up properly is an infraction that, at least in FED ball, provides her protection between the two bases where the obstruction occurred only if the obstruction happened as she was returning to her TOP base.
She made it because of the violation.
Quote:
That said, I'm not sure there's even a need to announce an award, is there? If a runner is obstructed, but the obstruction doesn't affect the outcome of the play, are we still supposed to call time and announce anything?
Always announce a violation if it was in effect. If the award is where the runner is presently located, just note the runner stays there.

Couple reasons to do that. One is to let them know that you are watching and you know the rule. Another is to let the coaches know you have made a decision as to where the runner should be. If they don't agree, they will argue anyway, but you have indicated that you did see the violation and made an award, not that you are using it or ignoring it as an afterthought to protect yourself.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote