The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 07, 2013, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
I mentioned ASA because this was at the end of the post.
Quote:
(in any rule book at this point, not just NFHS).
The wording I was looking for in ASA is under rule supplement 33 part C. Last 2 sentences, "The rule provides the runner must vacate any space needed by a fielder to make a play on a batted ball, unless the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when the hinderance occurs. In this case, the runner should not be called out unless the hinderance is intentional."

I seem to remember at some point seeing this question on either the FED exam or in one of the publications and the ruling in FED is the same. Unless the runner does something intentional to interfere, they do not have to leave the base for the fielder to make a play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
first base, interference, runner on base

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference BR - Base on Balls JPaco54 Baseball 7 Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:34am
Interference at 2nd Base Stripes33 Softball 6 Tue May 13, 2008 10:10am
Base Coach Interference danreeves1973 Baseball 3 Fri May 27, 2005 03:57am
Interference from 3rd base coach? stakehar Softball 7 Wed Jul 07, 2004 08:31pm
Interference at first base RustyWinslow Baseball 14 Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1