![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this play, R1 is going to be back at second safely absent the obstruction as determined at the time of the obstruction. Therefore, BR is not going to get second absent the obstruction. If R1, realizing she has been obstructed decides to try for 3rd, the BR may decide to advance to second. But she is certainly not protected in doing so despite the fact that absent the obstruction she does not attempt to take the base. Now, it's likely instructive to consider a case where the runner being obstructed clearly does make a difference to BR. R1 is obstructed coming around second on an obvious double to left field. Realizing she can't make third now and unaware the umpire saw the obstruction she returns to second causing the BR to return to first. After the play award both runners an extra base. Is your case more like my second or my like the first? I'd say more like the first. Yes, had R1 not been obstructed it is possible that BR would not have made the same baserunning mistake, but it's too much of a stretch for me. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I guess it's on the umpire here to decide of BR simply made a mistake, or took 2nd based on actions that never would have occurred without the obstruction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you don't, then I'm not completely sure what differentiates these two. If you do, then are you going to kill the ball when the BR is put out at second? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Suppose you started with R1 at third and R2 at second, and R2 is obstructed by F4 as she tries to go back to second on a pickoff from F2. She gets into a rundown, and in the process, R1 decides to go home as R2 safely slides under the tag going back to second. R1 is then thrown out at home. We wouldn't rule that R1 should go back to third base because, minus the obstruction, she likely would have never attempted to advance home. I see your OP play similarly.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
IN THE OP,
- there is no reason to think R1 should be awarded 3rd - there is no reason to think BR/R2 would have made it back to 1st - there is no reason to think BR/R2 was affected by the OBS As in the first response, R1 is safe, BR/R2 is out, next batter.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Yes.. the smart play would be for R1 to not touch 2B and get tagged between 2B and 3B. The defense could tag B2 on 2B all they want and it's not an out unless R1 is also touching the base exercising her right to the base.
So if they tag B2 while she is only one on 2B then tag R1 while she is off the base between 2B and 3B the ball is dead and we award R1 2B. Since B2 is on 2B she is also affected by the OBS and goes back to 1B. |
|
|||
|
Well... I guess I'm glad I posted this. I hear you all, and now agree with you. Thanks!
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Softball Trivia | MD Longhorn | Softball | 44 | Wed Feb 13, 2013 01:01pm |
| Trivia 4 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 46 | Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:38pm |
| Trivia 3 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 43 | Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:34pm |
| A little trivia///// | TimTaylor | Basketball | 0 | Sat Dec 11, 2010 02:15am |
| Basketball Trivia | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 43 | Thu May 06, 2010 11:06am |