The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 18, 2003, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I had a play in which F1 ran toward the 1B line to field a roller, snagged the ball in the webbing, and tagged the batter-runner about two-thirds of the way to 1B.

But the ball came out, and as F1 was reaching across the line to pick it up, the runner tripped over F1's shoe and stumbled, though she didn't fall all the way to the ground. F1 had time then to throw to F3 for the out.

I felt that because the ball was within F1's reach, it was between her and the BR, so the clearly unintentional trip was not obstruction.

But can a fielder with the ball intentionally trip a runner? (Obviously no in Canada, but what about in the U.S.?)

__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1