The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 13, 2003, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA

BOO is the proper call. The protest results in the proper batter assuming the count left by the improper batter. Unfortunately, ASA specifically addresses this in 4.7. The DEFO is now an Illegal Batter and DQ'd. A substitute is required if the team elects to continue using the DEFO.

In the second question, the DEFO/Illegal Batter is now simply DQ'd. [/B]
Mike,

Isn't it true that you can only have a BOO situation when a batter, already listed in the lineup, bats out of order?

The DEFO is not in the batting order. Therefore, she can not bat out of order. All she can be is an illegal batter. Different penalties apply - true?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1