![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
8-7-Y makes no mention of an intervening play. It says each runner on an improper base shall be declared out. Even if there was a play before it was caught, the runners who switched are still on an improper base.
|
|
|||
Triple play?
BR is out as a result of playing action.
R1 passing R2 on baseline is out before the pitch. R2 returning to touch 1B, is also out before the pitch, travesty of the game. Ruling same as NCAA, minus ejections.
__________________
SAump ![]() Last edited by SAump; Mon Nov 12, 2012 at 11:50pm. |
|
|||
Partially right result (3 outs), wrong reasons. Eject in Fed or ASA as well. Not positive on USFA.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Separate from what's being asked in the OP, from a mechanics standpoint, what was the BU paying attention to during the conference??? Last edited by KJUmp; Fri Nov 09, 2012 at 11:29am. |
|
|||
Lacking any further interpretation, I agree, both are out and coach is gone.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
However... arguing the other way, say the runners switch after the conference, and it's noted before a play. Switch them back, no harm, no foul. Nothing has been done at this point to offend the defense. Following this logic, the rule must be in the book to deal with the situation after a play. Flopping back to my first point, when would we stop enforcing the rule? After 2 plays have gone by? One pitch?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
After a play - I understand your questioning of it. Part of me sees this like a BOO - too late to fix (although if I can't call the runners out because of the intervening play, I'm definitely tossing the coach). The other part of me sees stretching "following" to include this, after all, it doesn't say IMMEDIATELY following. I think I'm leaning toward the latter.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
"Each runner on an improper base shall be declared out when such action is discovered by or brought to the umpire's attention by the defensive team prior to or after the completion of the at bat that was in effect during the offensive conference. In addition the manager shall be ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct. Would that adequately and fairly cover all scenarios? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ACTUAL difficult part of this question is whether we can enforce 87Y after a play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Trivia 3 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 43 | Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:34pm |
A little trivia///// | TimTaylor | Basketball | 0 | Sat Dec 11, 2010 02:15am |
Basketball Trivia | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 43 | Thu May 06, 2010 11:06am |