![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
So what logic ASA used to come up with this position is a mystery. Why would a batter or runner want to intentionally contact a foul ball that might go fair other than to prevent an out? Isn't that why the interference rule exists? ASA penalizes a batter for unintentionally contacting a loose ball while she runs to first after an uncaught third strike, but they don't penalize a batter for intentionally contacting a batted ball that is foul but might go fair. I'm just not tracking...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
Is the defender not permitted to do the same thing? Nothing new here. Quote:
Are you suggesting that we now forbid any player from touching any batted ball along the line prior to reaching the base because it may or may not go fair or foul?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
But the offense has no business touching a batted ball to gain some sort of benefit. Would we allow the base coach to go up to a batted ball and touch it before it goes fair if there's that possibility? Or a runner on third base? What about an on-deck batter? The offense is not allowed to touch a batted fly ball in foul territory that may be caught. They are taking away the defense's opportunity to field the ball for an out. Isn't that what the offense is doing on a ground ball that is in foul territory but may go fair? If the bases are loaded with two outs, the batter hits a dribbler up the third base line in foul territory that she feels won't go fair so she's staying at the plate, and R1 sees F5 waiting for the ball to roll fair so she can make a play on the batter at first, is it perfectly acceptable for R1 to run down and grab the ball before it goes fair? Since ASA seems to be the only sanctioning body to allow it, I'm simply questioning why. No other organization that I'm aware of gives the offense free will to touch a batted ball.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
No offense meant, but yeah - I would suggest that we now forbid any OFFENSIVE player from touching a batted ball on purpose --- EVER. Kinda shocked you're defending this view.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|