The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 01, 2012, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 128
xtreamump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
I saw this play, then talked to the PU for an explanation.

R1 on 3B, 1 out. Long fly ball to F7, runner on 3B takes off on the clang of the bat. The catch was made, runner had already, apparently crossed home plate and was on her way to dugout. Everybody starts screaming and the player (runner) hightails it back to 3B, without retouching home plate. She gets there in time. The defensive coach comes out and talks to the PU. Nothing changes. Runner remains on 3B.
After the game I ask PU what did the coach want-coach wanted runner called out for not retouching plate. PU then tells me he never saw if the player touched home the first time, because he was watching the catch-so he felt like he couldn't call her out because it's possible she missed home plate and consequently would not have had to retouch it.
I don't know if this merits discussion, but....
I see a live ball appeal to 3b-safe, then the DC asking for time and asking a rule interpretation. KISS.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1