![]() |
|
|
|||
In reading the published info once again, I see that the subject is "game control" and it speaks about trying to prevent situations before they happen.
The example given is the one that is being discussed here. In the context of the entire article, I think I see the point. If the batter is truly confused and takes off for first on ball 3, and the runners advance because they see the batter moving toward first, then the advice is to kill the play and reset. The issue I have with this is that it puts the umpire on the field back in the position of judging intent of the player as opposed to the actions of the player. If you have been around long enough, you will run into players and coaches that try this type of thing (intentionally running to first on ball 3) to create confusion and try to gain a "cheap" base. Up until now, we have taken the position that the onus is on the game participants to know the situation and react accordingly and if a team can create confusion, yeah, it may be bush league, but it is within the rules and we rule on what happens on the field. How many times on this and other similar forums have we chastised some umpires for making up a ruling to "keep it fair" and stop what they considered to be a bush league type play? I do like the topic of game control and game management and think it is something that all levels of umpires can benefit from. However, I don't think using this particular example fits with the topic.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
To that point, what Rule is this clarifying? OK, so game management is not a Rule, but what Rule would support doing this? And, what ever happened to the time-honored DMC? We have all seen "unusual" things that turn into "chaos". But if they don't violate a rule, then who are we to say? Are we opening Pandora's box here? I see a train wreck with this. Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() Quote:
The player who is "to bat last this inning" is the one who is up when the game-winning run is scored. How does coach know who that will be? Heck, if they are Vis, and they score 12 runs, how does coach know that right now? So then, coach interprets that to mean the B9 belongs on 2B because the umpires said so, or at least thought so. You then call BOO and coach says, but you told me to put her there!!!! Now what do you do? That's a helluva good question because "something unusual just occurred chaos is about to ensue. ![]() I would have worked it this way: Coach: "What am I supposed to do?" Me (chuckling internally): "Coach, Who is due to bat first this inning"? Coach: "It is #42 in the 9 spot" (B9) Me: "Then #00 in the 8 spot goes to 2B" (B8) Now, if B9 ends up on 2B, then I have no problem enforcing BOO, if properly appealed.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Quote:
Seems to me the umpire is giving them by the book advice. Your point is taken however, it is a good idea to not end the conversation there but to make sure that they agree who the lead off is and the person they send to 2B is listed one position above them in the lineup. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Except....
Except it is not that player who should be placed on 2nd. The player who "should be up" is the lead off. The player that is in front of that player is the one placed on 2nd.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, SWP, if the leadoff is up, the TB runner is not the FLEX.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Yeah of course, who is up to go to second. Sorry it was unclear the way I wrote it the first time.
|
|
|||
Dave, yes, the book uses those words and ump quoted correctly.
When I posed the question about what rule are we clarifying, I was actually referring to the sitch from the OP. Calling time on ball 3 is supported by what rule?
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA - June Rule Clarifications and Plays | NCASAUmp | Softball | 1 | Wed Jun 15, 2011 02:27pm |
June Rule Clarifications | SRW | Softball | 3 | Tue Jun 05, 2007 01:10am |
No Fault Situation - June Referee Issue | JFA67 | Softball | 9 | Fri May 19, 2006 12:15pm |
June Cordeau camp??? | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 0 | Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:40pm |