|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Terrible call.  The ump was looking for justification for killing the play.  What does NCAA say would NOT be interference on a play like that?  Since it seems like every time a runner is hit with a throw they are calling the interference, I' d love to know when it would NOT be.
		 
				__________________ ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Ball high hopped to F4, tosses to F6 for play at 2nd.  R1 about 15 from 2nd when F6 catches the ball and starts throw to 1st.  U3 hasnt even gotten hand fully up yet to signal out when throw hits runner in the throat.  R1 did not go down, but did appear to pull up slightly, F6 made absolutely no attempt to clear runner on throw, sidearmed ball directly into R1.  To me personally it appeared F6 purposely threw ball into R1.  U3 kills play, all 3 umpires get together and discuss situation, they call in both coaches and have more discussion and then call R1 for interference and declare batter/runner out also.
		 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Question from WCWS | HollowMan | Softball | 52 | Mon May 28, 2012 09:43pm | 
| wcws ump | ronald | Softball | 14 | Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:00am | 
| Memphis v. Tennesee | SAK | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:55am | 
| WCWS - Umpires | PublicBJ | Softball | 10 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 08:08am | 
| WCWS last night | coachfanmom | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 01:21pm |