The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
"My belief is that this interpretation is incorrect and that the stop must occur within a step or two of first base"

Dan, I know what your position on this is, because you were in the midst of a fierce debate on McGriff's about 16 mo ago when we were first discussing the new NFHS Rule 8. There were many that agreed with you in setting an arbitrary distance for the B-R to come to a stop. Some went so far as to say it was a mental stop; that after a couple steps the B-R would look at F1, find the ball, and stop in her mind! Then if she continues running she is committed to 2B. Oh yeah, try to sell that call to a coach that you "read his runner's mind!"

But as then, I still disagree with your intepretation. I don't think that an umpire can define when a runner "stopped" if she is still physically moving. The runner has to physically stop; the umpire can't stop her in his mind.

NFHS is now in the 2nd year of new rule 8, and ASA has had it for many years. I am not aware of any clarification about an arbitrary distance clarification for "may stop."

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1