The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2012, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Well let me ask this, since we're on it.

I doubt if this matters, but this is was in an adult slow pitch game:

B1 hits a grounder, rounds 1st base, bumps into F1 who was in the base line. He then goes back to 1st and asks for obstruction call.

I was base umpire. Before I could even say anything my partner said he did get obstructed and awarded him the base. I let it go and didn't argue it, mainly because while I "believe" he has to complete the trip to 2nd in order to get an obstruction call, I'm not completely sure. And I don't have my books on me at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2012, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMBReferee View Post
Well let me ask this, since we're on it.

I doubt if this matters, but this is was in an adult slow pitch game:

B1 hits a grounder, rounds 1st base, bumps into F1 who was in the base line. He then goes back to 1st and asks for obstruction call.

I was base umpire. Before I could even say anything my partner said he did get obstructed and awarded him the base. I let it go and didn't argue it, mainly because while I "believe" he has to complete the trip to 2nd in order to get an obstruction call, I'm not completely sure. And I don't have my books on me at the moment.
There is no rule saying that a runner has to attempt to advance to receive the award. What base would the runner have attained if not obstructed? Award them that one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 03:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There is no rule saying that a runner has to attempt to advance to receive the award. What base would the runner have attained if not obstructed? Award them that one.
^^^^most of the above.....

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 06:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMBReferee View Post

I doubt if this matters, but this is was in an adult slow pitch game:
It doesn't

Quote:
B1 hits a grounder, rounds 1st base, bumps into F1 who was in the base line. He then goes back to 1st and asks for obstruction call.
The baseline has zip to do with it and a player should never have to "ask" for an OBS.

Quote:
I was base umpire. Before I could even say anything my partner said he did get obstructed and awarded him the base. I let it go and didn't argue it, mainly because while I "believe" he has to complete the trip to 2nd in order to get an obstruction call, I'm not completely sure. And I don't have my books on me at the moment.
Your "belief" is in error. Don't know if the player deserved the base because I wasn't there to see it, but there is no down side to ruling OBS.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMBReferee View Post
Well let me ask this, since we're on it.

I doubt if this matters, but this is was in an adult slow pitch game:

B1 hits a grounder, rounds 1st base, bumps into F1 who was in the base line. He then goes back to 1st and asks for obstruction call.

I was base umpire. Before I could even say anything my partner said he did get obstructed and awarded him the base. I let it go and didn't argue it, mainly because while I "believe" he has to complete the trip to 2nd in order to get an obstruction call, I'm not completely sure. And I don't have my books on me at the moment.
Both you and your partner were wrong. He does NOT have to attempt to get to 2nd to be awarded 2nd. However, it's most likely that your partner erred in awarding 2nd - as it sounds like there's no chance the runner would have achieved 2nd base. The OBS protects him between the bases where he was when obstructed - sounds like between home and 1st if that's where F1 was. So he was safe at first even if thrown out. But 2nd doesn't seem likely here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 121
mbcrowder, I just wanted to point out:
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMBReferee View Post
B1 hits a grounder, rounds 1st base, bumps into F1 who was in the base line. He then goes back to 1st
that this sounds to me like he was obstructed between first and second, and that's where he couldn't be put out.

Without seeing it, I can't be sure, but I agree that awarding second doesn't sound particularly likely on an infield grounder.
__________________
Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by pob14 View Post
mbcrowder, I just wanted to point out:
that this sounds to me like he was obstructed between first and second, and that's where he couldn't be put out.

Without seeing it, I can't be sure, but I agree that awarding second doesn't sound particularly likely on an infield grounder.
I see the order he posted it ... but F1 in a place where BR can run into him while rounding 1st seemed very odd, especially on an infield grounder - not sure I've ever seen the pitcher there. I assumed the bump was before first base - but if it wasn't, you are right.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I see the order he posted it ... but F1 in a place where BR can run into him while rounding 1st seemed very odd, especially on an infield grounder - not sure I've ever seen the pitcher there. I assumed the bump was before first base - but if it wasn't, you are right.
I believe you made the wrong assumption. One who isn't an umpire (rather a referee) is more likely to think the first baseman (F3) is F1.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2012, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I believe you made the wrong assumption. One who isn't an umpire (rather a referee) is more likely to think the first baseman (F3) is F1.
Didn't even think of that, but you are probably right - makes a LOT more sense that way too.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Award after obstruction on another runner blueit Softball 44 Thu Apr 08, 2010 02:07pm
Question on ASA Obstruction Award Procedure WestMichBlue Softball 17 Tue Jul 10, 2007 09:11am
Obstruction award? bigsig Softball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:54am
Obstruction -- always a base award ?? 18597 Softball 10 Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm
obstruction - award a base? peter_s_n Baseball 12 Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1