![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Trailing runner tagged out after lead runner is obstructed
ASA answers preferred because that's what I call.
Situation: Two outs. R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B. B4 hits a ball in the gap. R1 is obstructed by F6, falls, barely makes it to 3B and stops. Umpire sticks out his arm and immediately judges that R1 and R2 (a speedy runner who was moving on contact) both would have scored easily without obstruction. But trailing R2 didn't see what happened. She rounds 2B, advances almost all the way to 3B, sees R1 standing there, retreats toward 2B and then R2 is tagged out by the defense before reaching the bag. What's your call?
My instinct is invoke the "dead ball, award bases" routine -- R2 safe, R1+R2 sent home -- BUT the ASA Rulebook is only explicit about the obstructed runner. It mentions the other runners with regards to awarded bases, not safe or out. I am guessing there are helpful case plays in the ASA Case Book but I don't have it. Or if this has been discussed before, please point me toward the thread -- I tried searching and couldn't find it. Cheers, Scott |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstructed Runner | blueump | Softball | 5 | Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm |
hurt obstructed runner | shipwreck | Softball | 3 | Sat Jul 11, 2009 09:01am |
Passing an obstructed runner | SRW | Softball | 17 | Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:25am |
Obstructed Runner on an Out | blueump | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm |
Is a Runner that is tagged going to first.. | cshs81 | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 09:22pm |