![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
My initial thought (although I didn't post) was to consider R2 as a runner affected by the obstruction and award the bases. However, this part bugs me...
While it is true that in the umpire's judgment R2 would have scored had there been no obstruction, the obstruction did not cause R2 to not pay attention to where R1 was (or, presumably, the coaches) until it was too late and R2 was picked off. Did obstruction cause R2 to not know where the ball was and where the preceding runner was? Does R2 get a free pass for such a base-running gaffe? I get Steve's point of the defense not benefiting from the obstruction, but were they? Or were they benefiting from poor base-running by R2?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Obstructed Runner | blueump | Softball | 5 | Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm |
| hurt obstructed runner | shipwreck | Softball | 3 | Sat Jul 11, 2009 09:01am |
| Passing an obstructed runner | SRW | Softball | 17 | Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:25am |
| Obstructed Runner on an Out | blueump | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm |
| Is a Runner that is tagged going to first.. | cshs81 | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 09:22pm |