The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Sounds like your umpire didn't read it the way you did since your runner was only protected to 3B. His judgment vs yours. He wins.

I've told coaches (who've asked) that when obstruction is called, have your runner advance to the next base, since the obstructed runner can't be called out between the bases she was obstructed - keeping in mind that interference trumps obstruction. After reaching the next base, now you must coach the runner as if there was no obstruction since you can't read the umpire's mind to determine to where your runner is protected. If you think she can make the following base send her and live with the results. If not, hold her and be safe. If she was protected to the following base, the umpire will award her that base.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I think MNBlue covered the answer, but I want to clarify one part of the rule.

Obstruction awards the runner the base they would have obtained in the umpires judgement had there not been any obstruction. So if there was no turning themselves about(bad hokey pokey reference, I know) with the short stop then what base would that runner have obtained?? You think it would have been home, the umpire felt it was only 3B (or they misapplied the obstruction rule and only gave one base which is WRONG, they should get whatever base in their judgement they would have obtained...could be back a base depending on the situation). This is why MNBlue's comment is so important you have to be careful as a coach sending runners past the base they were obstructed because you can't read the umpires mind. Most umpires will drop the delayed dead ball signal some time during the play (hard to run with one wing sticking out) some will try to show the signal again after they reach the next base if they are still protecting that runner, but again this isn't always done due to different situations that occur.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Dave and MN Blue have covered the play.

I would add that as a coach, you need to know this concept and the interference concept like the back of your hand. Obviously, this umpire knew it had occurred and signaled it. You knowing the parameters of the rule would have ensured at least your runner staying at third and maybe getting awarded home.

Anytime you are in a game or at home thinking about the game and you say to yourself "I think," then you need to get the book out or come ask us or one of your local umpires. Most will be glad to answer your questions.

Thanks for the question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks guys

@ Andy — to answer the question that you ask coaches, no, I would not have sent the runner if the question was would she be out or safe. However, the reason she would have been out is because she had to slow down doing the hokey pokey to get around the shortstop. Had the obstruction not occurred in the first place, I am pretty confident it would have been an easy score.

Thanks for all the explanations guys. They have been very helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stiff View Post
...However, the reason she would have been out is because she had to slow down doing the hokey pokey to get around the shortstop. Had the obstruction not occurred in the first place, I am pretty confident it would have been an easy score...
That is a judgment that will be made by the umpire, and if he agreed with you, there would be no need to send the runner, since he would award the player home anyway. But, if he does not agree with you, the out at home will stand.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
One of my favorite comments to coaches:

Coach the game and players, not the call.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Mark nailed it....

I have had similar conversation with coaches about the type of play you describe and my question to them is: Would you have sent the runner if I didn't signal the obstruction?

The answer is usually: Well, no...

Coach the game in front of you and not to what the umpire is doing.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm
Is it obstruction or not? JRSooner Baseball 2 Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm
Obstruction..or not? Andy Softball 7 Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:58pm
Obstruction sprivitor Softball 16 Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1