The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
Coach interference-PONY

The batter is called out if the base coach interferes while out of the coach's box, but as long as he/she doesn't make an action (intentional or otherwise) while in the box, the coach is protected.

Am I interpreting this correctly?
Sorry don't have the book handy, but it was in the rules supplement section.

In ASA, the coach does not have this same protection, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
The batter is called out if the base coach interferes while out of the coach's box, but as long as he/she doesn't make an action (intentional or otherwise) while in the box, the coach is protected.

Am I interpreting this correctly?
Sorry don't have the book handy, but it was in the rules supplement section.

In ASA, the coach does not have this same protection, correct?
Can't speak for PONY, but ASA does not afford a base coach protection from interference based on their location.

On a thrown ball, it must be intentional for the INT to be called.

On a batted ball, the coach must vacate the area. Intent is irrelevant.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 12:44pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Can't speak for PONY, but ASA does not afford a base coach protection from interference based on their location.

On a thrown ball, it must be intentional for the INT to be called.

On a batted ball, the coach must vacate the area. Intent is irrelevant.
Not sure I completely agree on a thrown ball. If it's apparent that he might end up in the way of an attempt to throw the batter out, he needs to move.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
The batter is called out if the base coach interferes while out of the coach's box, but as long as he/she doesn't make an action (intentional or otherwise) while in the box, the coach is protected.

Am I interpreting this correctly?
Sorry don't have the book handy, but it was in the rules supplement section.

In ASA, the coach does not have this same protection, correct?
You are not interpreting it correctly. It actually says the opposite. "Coach's interference occurs when a base coach interferes with a fielder attempting to catch or throw a ball. The coach's box is not a sanctuary."
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2012, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
Sorry, I actually was referring to the rule (NOT the POE as originally stated): 9.8.q:


"If a coach intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while in the coaches box, or interferes with the defensive team's opportunity to make an out while outside the coaches box"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2012, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
If I were you I would not rely on the POI's in the PONY book. They have been wrong for a long time and efforts to change them have been frustrating at best.
__________________
Bill Hohn is the MAN!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 06:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
This any luck, the "inconsistencies" within the PONY rules and POE will be taken care of by 2013.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2012, 07:57am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Sorry, I actually was referring to the rule (NOT the POE as originally stated): 9.8.q:


"If a coach intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while in the coaches box, or interferes with the defensive team's opportunity to make an out while outside the coaches box"
Pony's points of interest are a mess. They are almost as bad as some local rules.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach Interference grunewar Baseball 5 Wed Jun 16, 2010 01:05pm
Interference by Coach shimes Baseball 7 Tue May 16, 2006 05:16pm
Coach Interference Cyber-Ref Basketball 17 Sun Jan 08, 2006 03:37pm
Base Coach Interference danreeves1973 Baseball 3 Fri May 27, 2005 03:57am
Coach interference blueump Baseball 4 Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1