The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 18
NFHS - Softball

A Runner legally crosses home plate but fails to touch. Coach Physically Assists the runner in returning with a push in an attempt to retouch. What's the Call?

ASA is specific, Deadball out and if runners on still active, my words, they must return to the last base acquired prior to the interference, unless the out called on the runner who was physically assisted was the 3rd out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 01:10pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk View Post
A Runner legally crosses home plate but fails to touch. Coach Physically Assists the runner in returning with a push in an attempt to retouch. What's the Call?

ASA is specific, Deadball out and if runners on still active, my words, they must return to the last base acquired prior to the interference, unless the out called on the runner who was physically assisted was the 3rd out.
Ditto ... why is this a question? I have a better one for you, one that caused an argument on the field last week... but I won't clutter your thread with it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 18
Since and supposedly ASA and NFHS Rule sets are identical with a few exceptions, the question was raised in my mind based upon the occurrence in an league game played under ASA Rules.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:46pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk View Post
Since and supposedly ASA and NFHS Rule sets are identical with a few exceptions, the question was raised in my mind based upon the occurrence in an league game played under ASA Rules.
That's what I was getting at ... what happened that made you have this question, and how was it treated on the field?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 18
Ruling on the field was, dead ball, runner is out on the interference, since the preceeding runners had already scored. Question only came afterward, in that, "Why did you call my runner out?", hello???

But the question remains, how is this handled in NFHS Softball as I don't find it to be addressed to the extend in ASA, or am I mistaken? Oops, looks like my initial posting wasn't as complete as it should have been.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
physically assisting

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Softball Diagram ukumpire Softball 4 Wed Apr 11, 2012 03:40am
NFHS Softball test CajunNewBlue Softball 7 Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:40am
NFHS softball supervised test shipwreck Softball 12 Tue Sep 04, 2007 02:43pm
NFHS softball rain-out pay shipwreck Softball 18 Thu Sep 07, 2006 08:50am
NFHS Softball Question BktBallRef Softball 4 Sun May 01, 2005 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1