The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Team A starts pitcher A1 on the mound. Later, A1 was removed following the 2nd trip to the mound. A2 goes to the mound, and A1 goes to the dugout and doesn't play defense or bat. Later still, team A brings A1 out of the dugout and puts her back on the mound. Legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Yes...

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Team A starts pitcher A1 on the mound. Later, A1 was removed following the 2nd trip to the mound. A2 goes to the mound, and A1 goes to the dugout and doesn't play defense or bat. Later still, team A brings A1 out of the dugout and puts her back on the mound. Legal?
SECTION 3 SUBSTITUTING

ART. 5 . . . Any player may be withdrawn from the game and re-entered once, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever in the lineup. A violation results in illegal substitution. A substitute who is withdrawn may re-enter.
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 05:08pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
As long as A1 goes back to the same spot in the batting order, legal. You get three visits per seven innings. On the fourth umpire removes the player from the pitching position for the remainder of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 10:00pm
mj mj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by softball_junky
As long as A1 goes back to the same spot in the batting order, legal. You get three visits per seven innings. On the fourth umpire removes the player from the pitching position for the remainder of the game.
So what if they remove the pitcher on the second trip? In other words is it only a charged conference if the pitcher is not removed? 3 free ones, from then on they may come out but must remove?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 01, 2005, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Thanks fellas. I was asked the question on another forum and answered that it was legal. I was pretty sure a pitcher was treated as any other player, as long as she was not removed bacuase of excessive trips to the mound.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1