The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS - Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/90820-nfhs-softball.html)

SpringtownHawk Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:11pm

NFHS - Softball
 
A Runner legally crosses home plate but fails to touch. Coach Physically Assists the runner in returning with a push in an attempt to retouch. What's the Call?

ASA is specific, Deadball out and if runners on still active, my words, they must return to the last base acquired prior to the interference, unless the out called on the runner who was physically assisted was the 3rd out.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 27, 2012 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk (Post 839149)
A Runner legally crosses home plate but fails to touch. Coach Physically Assists the runner in returning with a push in an attempt to retouch. What's the Call?

ASA is specific, Deadball out and if runners on still active, my words, they must return to the last base acquired prior to the interference, unless the out called on the runner who was physically assisted was the 3rd out.

Ditto ... why is this a question? I have a better one for you, one that caused an argument on the field last week... but I won't clutter your thread with it.

SpringtownHawk Fri Apr 27, 2012 01:20pm

Since and supposedly ASA and NFHS Rule sets are identical with a few exceptions, the question was raised in my mind based upon the occurrence in an league game played under ASA Rules.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 27, 2012 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk (Post 839158)
Since and supposedly ASA and NFHS Rule sets are identical with a few exceptions, the question was raised in my mind based upon the occurrence in an league game played under ASA Rules.

That's what I was getting at ... what happened that made you have this question, and how was it treated on the field?

SpringtownHawk Fri Apr 27, 2012 02:57pm

Ruling on the field was, dead ball, runner is out on the interference, since the preceeding runners had already scored. Question only came afterward, in that, "Why did you call my runner out?", hello???

But the question remains, how is this handled in NFHS Softball as I don't find it to be addressed to the extend in ASA, or am I mistaken? Oops, looks like my initial posting wasn't as complete as it should have been..... :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1