![]() |
|
|
|||
NCAA non approved bat
I am a little confused on a non approved bat discovered and the penalty. If the bat is discovered the first time does the rule state that the head coach shall be ejected along with the other penalties? Rule 3.3.4 effect says if the inappropriate bat is rediscovered the head coach is ejected from the game. Earlier it says if a non approved bat is discovered, the PU shall secure the bat for the duration of the game. If the PU has the bat how can it be rediscovered? Once again, what does it take as far as bats go to have to eject the head coach? Dave
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
So if you do a bat check, and all are fine and then a player pulls a non approved bat out of their bag and uses it, that is considered rediscovering it? And then the head coach is ejected? Is that correct? Dave
|
|
|||
RULE 3.3.4 RULE & EFFECT
Bats deemed inappropriate (altered, illegal or nonapproved) (pregame or DURING PLAY) shall be removed from the team’s possession and secured by the plate umpire from either team for the duration of the game. If the inappropriate bat is rediscovered while the batter is in the batter’s box or after her turn at bat and before a pitch to the next batter, the batter (or now batter-runner if the turn at bat is completed) shall be declared out and ejected, and any advance by base runners shall be nullified. If a pitch has been thrown to the next batter, the batter who used the equipment and is now the base runner, shall be declared out if on base and, in any case, shall be ejected. Advance by base runners shall stand. In all cases, the head coach is ejected from that game.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Quote:
3.3.4 Only applies to a bat already removed pre game or during play. First time during play, EFFECT—(3.3.1.1 to 3.3.1.8)—See Appendix C. If a batter enters the batter’s box with an illegal bat, the bat shall be removed from the game (not returned to the dugout), the batter shall be declared out, and base runners shall not advance. If a batter enters the batter’s box with an altered or nonapproved bat, or has completed her turn at bat using that bat and before the first pitch to the next batter, the penalty for an illegal bat shall be imposed in addition to the batter being ejected from the game. If a nonapproved bat is detected at any time during the contest, the bat shall be surrendered to the plate umpire. Exception: In all cases, advance is legal on a noncontacted pitch or ball four. Any bat discovered through NCAA bat compliance testing to exceed the ASA bat performance standard shall be excluded from use, and the player/team may be subject to penalties imposed by the NCAA (not umpire). In all cases regarding possession or use of an inappropriate bat, the plate umpire shall file an incident report (See Appendix E), with the NCAA softball secretary-rules editor. 4C. Batter is out and ejected. Base runner(s) shall return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. Bat immediately surrendered, returned to the team postgame, and an incident report is filed with the NCAA softball SRE Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers." Thomas Pynchon |
|
|||
Quote:
You'll take note that the appendix NEVER states that the coach is ejected. However, that could not be made clearer in the rules portion of the book. IN ALL CASES, THE HEAD COACH IS EJECTED FROM THE GAME.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
We are still getting conflicting opinions on this. If a non approved bat is found in the initial bat check and removed by the PU, how can it be brought back in? So what criteria has to happen for the head coach to be ejected? Is it anytime a player is discovered using a non approved bat, or does it have to be the second time the bat is discovered? I must have a thick skull. Dave
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
any inappropriate bat discovered during pregame bat check or during game will be taken out of play and generate an incident report.
if a bat is not on the ncaa bat check list provided by the coach pregame or a bat already taken out of play by umpires is reintroduced into play, you have an ejected coach by rule. of course, you'll have an incident report to do for the bat and the ejections. Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Non-Approved Softballs | NCASAUmp | Softball | 0 | Tue May 03, 2011 01:53pm |
ASA Approved Bats? | bigsig | Softball | 4 | Mon Feb 07, 2011 07:13am |
ASA Illegal/Non-approved bat approved by umpire | NCASAUmp | Softball | 18 | Tue Oct 13, 2009 01:51pm |
Approved bats | surehands | Softball | 10 | Mon Apr 06, 2009 09:46am |
approved bats | justmom | Softball | 13 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 08:35pm |