The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 02, 2003, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
(Nice to see I'm not the only one that doubts myself on the "basics" every now and then. Had a real brain freeze last night on a long, caught foul fly, got away with it, though... I'll post it if I get a chance.)

Anyway, AlabamaBlue, permit me to offer up a different scenario with the same rule (i.e. with bases loaded):

- Bases loaded.
- Batter hits grounder to F3 who tags 1st base bag(BR out).
- F3 immediately throws home, so runner coming home stops
and retreats back to 3rd base. Her retreat back to 3rd
forces the other two runners back to 2nd and to 1st.

Catcher did not throw the ball anywhere else, just held
it as the runners scattered back to where they began.

So, in the end, the three runners were only forced until the BR was forced out at 1st. After that, the force is gone, so they don't "have to" advance.

So, for this play, one out and all others safe, bases still loaded.

Everyone agree ?



__________________
bobbrix
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1