The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 07:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
R1 scores. The out on R2 is not a force out, as a trailing runner (R3) had already been declared out.

You can never, ever have a force out on a runner when a runner who's trailing them has already been declared out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA RS#1.J Last Sentence......

"On an appeal play, the force out is determined by when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred."
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
ASA RS#1.J Last Sentence......

"On an appeal play, the force out is determined by when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred."
Speakin ASA.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Then the call is the same for ASA and NFHS?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRabbit View Post
Then the call is the same for ASA and NFHS?
I just had an extremely long conversation with a well respected baseball and softball rules interpreter and author.

Here's what I confirmed/learned.

Check your 2004 ASA rule book, if you still have one laying around. ASA changed their interpretation of the definition of a force as it pertained to an appeal play. Another person already quoted it as follows: "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred."

Prior to 2004, that was not ASA's rule/interpretation.

Only ASA (among all softball codes) has adopted this definition/interpretation.

Consequently, in ASA, the run does score.

However, in all other codes, including NFHS and NCAA, the run does NOT score. They keep the "retroactive" force play.

I'm sure this will create some controversy, but that's the interpretation. MLB is currently discussing possibly changing their interpretation as well.

There are some case plays that illustrate why ASA has gone with this interpretation, but I'll leave them out for now.

Fire away
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
I just had an extremely long conversation with a well respected baseball and softball rules interpreter and author.

Here's what I confirmed/learned.

Check your 2004 ASA rule book, if you still have one laying around. ASA changed their interpretation of the definition of a force as it pertained to an appeal play. Another person already quoted it as follows: "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred."

Prior to 2004, that was not ASA's rule/interpretation.

Only ASA (among all softball codes) has adopted this definition/interpretation.

Consequently, in ASA, the run does score.

However, in all other codes, including NFHS and NCAA, the run does NOT score. They keep the "retroactive" force play.

I'm sure this will create some controversy, but that's the interpretation. MLB is currently discussing possibly changing their interpretation as well.

There are some case plays that illustrate why ASA has gone with this interpretation, but I'll leave them out for now.

Fire away
You are correct I got the same explanation from a high place person.

ASA waits until the defense appeals and makes the ruling from that point in time. So the run scores from third.

NFHS Keep the "retroactive" force play. So the run from third does not
score.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
There are some case plays that illustrate why ASA has gone with this interpretation, but I'll leave them out for now.

I for one would like to see a list of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2012, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
I just had an extremely long conversation with a well respected baseball and softball rules interpreter and author.

Here's what I confirmed/learned.

Check your 2004 ASA rule book, if you still have one laying around. ASA changed their interpretation of the definition of a force as it pertained to an appeal play. Another person already quoted it as follows: "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred."

Prior to 2004, that was not ASA's rule/interpretation.
Well, not really. Prior to 2004 the same RS (POE, at that time) read, "If the batter-runner is put out, or is the first out of multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs".

So, actually, if the BR was retired prior to the appeal, there is not force out to be had In 2004, they ADDED "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred". This wording basically expanded the interpretation to include any situation where the forced has been relieved prior to the appeal.

And, to me, it makes sense. During a live ball, the force is always relieved anytime a trailing runner is retired. Why wouldn't it be the same on a dead ball appeal?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2012, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Well, not really. Prior to 2004 the same RS (POE, at that time) read, "If the batter-runner is put out, or is the first out of multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs".

So, actually, if the BR was retired prior to the appeal, there is not force out to be had In 2004, they ADDED "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred". This wording basically expanded the interpretation to include any situation where the forced has been relieved prior to the appeal.

And, to me, it makes sense. During a live ball, the force is always relieved anytime a trailing runner is retired. Why wouldn't it be the same on a dead ball appeal?
Not arguing that is why I posted it after it was ask of me on the NFHS side.
NFHS does it and it is what I thought I would find in ASA but did not.
So why not on a dead ball in ASA?
Hopefully it can be explained or changed if necessary?
Looking to hear more and learn.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2012, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Well, not really. Prior to 2004 the same RS (POE, at that time) read, "If the batter-runner is put out, or is the first out of multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs".

No. ASA added the new language in order to change the rule application. Prior to 2004, ASA's interpretation was the same as NHSF & NCAA.

Doing what ASA does when it doesn't want to give a lengthly explanation for something, they just highlighted it without really addressing it.

Someone once asked me (perhaps it was you) about my accusation that ASA changes rules or interpretations without really addressing them. Here's an example.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
R1 scores. The out on R2 is not a force out, as a trailing runner (R3) had already been declared out.

You can never, ever have a force out on a runner when a runner who's trailing them has already been declared out.
Except for helmet removal.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Except for helmet removal.
Good catch there. Forgot about that one.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
R1 scores. The out on R2 is not a force out, as a trailing runner (R3) had already been declared out.

You can never, ever have a force out on a runner when a runner who's trailing them has already been declared out.
But even if R2 IS a force out, the run (R1) would still score, wouldn't it? Let's change the situation a little...
Bases loaded, one out.
Ground ball to F6... she throws to F5 for the force on R2.
F5 sees R3 making it to 2nd, so tries to make a play on B/R at first.
B/R is safe and F3 throws back to F5 who tags R3 trying to steal.

There's still three outs and R1 still scores. So why does the timing matter (in the OP)? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamG View Post
But even if R2 IS a force out, the run (R1) would still score, wouldn't it?
Nope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamG View Post
Let's change the situation a little...
Bases loaded, one out.
Ground ball to F6... she throws to F5 for the force on R2.
F5 sees R3 making it to 2nd, so tries to make a play on B/R at first.
B/R is safe and F3 throws back to F5 who tags R3 trying to steal.

There's still three outs and R1 still scores. So why does the timing matter (in the OP)? What am I missing?
What difference does it make the order in which the outs were attempted?
Quote:
ASA 5-5-B: No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of:
1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner.
They can throw the ball around all they want, but if the third out is a force out, no runs may score.

Make sense?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Nope.



What difference does it make the order in which the outs were attempted?


They can throw the ball around all they want, but if the third out is a force out, no runs may score.

Make sense?
I understand that. I guess what I missed was how R2 missing the bag would be considered a 'force out', which from the PP, I understand it's not. It's only if it WAS a force out (and happened AFTER R3 was out, which is impossible) would the run not count.

OK, that sentence doesn't make total sense, but I think I understand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Int Between Player who has already scored and F2 Rattlehead Softball 6 Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:14pm
How is this play scored? John Robertson Baseball 21 Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:43pm
appeal/run scored kld9 Baseball 4 Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:23am
How's this scored? akalsey Baseball 8 Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:17pm
Run scored CK Baseball 10 Tue Jul 08, 2003 05:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1