The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2003, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Two points...

First, regarding F3:
The fielder has the right to obstruct the runner when she is attempting to field a batted ball, has possession of the ball, or is about to receive the ball. None were true in this case. F3 "legitimately trying to make a play" (i.e. be prepared to receive a thrown ball) makes no difference. Neither does the "train wreck" exculsion apply, since the ball did not arrive at all, let alone at the same time as the runner. As you describe it, it sounds like obstruction to me.

Second, regarding the award:
Quote:
By definition, if the umpire thought the fielder would have beaten the runner, then the judgement is that the BR would not have reached even without the obstruction and therefore can not be awarded first.
What? What definition? Is this a difference between NCAA and ASA?

If the collision happened after the out, then you've got nothin' ... otherwise, it is obstruction. (HTBT caveat, of course).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1