The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
8-5-B-e. Leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched.

Effect, d-e. The obstructed runner is out if properly appealed.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
8-5-B-e. Leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched.

Effect, d-e. The obstructed runner is out if properly appealed.
This applies if the runner does not retouch when she goes to her awarded base (impossible in his scenario, as her award base IS the base she left early.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 03:22pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Based on play described, I have an out. To be safe obstruction must occur after fly ball is first touched and while returning to 2nd base.

Last edited by Tex; Wed Oct 12, 2011 at 03:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
Based on play described, she is safe returning to 2nd base due to obstruction which occurred after first touched.
OP doesn't say the OBS is after first touched... I only mention because it actually doesn't matter and it's a little worrisome that you posted that tidbit as part of the reason you have her safe.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
Based on play described, I have an out. To be safe obstruction must occur after fly ball is first touched and while returning to 2nd base.
Please explain.
Why can't obstruction occur while the ball is in the air?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Rule supplement 36, 5th paragraph.

"It should also be clear tha the statement "a runner cannot be called out between the two bases the runner was obstruced" does not apply when the runner committed another violation and that violation is being palyed upon. EXAMPLE: A runner leaving second base too soon on a fly ball is returning after the ball is caught and is obstructed between second base and third base. If the runner would not have made it back to second base prior to the throw arriving, the runner remains out."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 145
Read page 58 of your 2011 NFHS case book at 8.4.3 Situation H.

Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers."
Thomas Pynchon
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 06:16pm
hog hog is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
NFHS Rule 8-4-3b, Exception 2 tells me that the runner is out on proper appeal, unless she was obstructed while returning to the bag.

My ruling is she's out.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2011, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Hmmm...The original post is almost a verbatim dupilcate of the FED Case Play. That leads me to believe that Skahtboi is getting at something more than just what the correct ruling would be.

Maybe it's this...

Suppose the runner was heading toward third and got completely knocked down, wiped out and maybe even injured.

Couldn't you say that hampered her ability to get back to second even more so that some incidental bump as she happened to be heading the other drection?

Yes, I know that's not what the Case Play says...but it does seem kind of incongruous. She's out if she's headed one direction- even though at that point she still had the right to go back and tag up and the obstruction may have prevented it- but not out if she's headed the other way- even though she may have been out anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I violated rule #1.....not THAT rule #1 Judtech Basketball 148 Mon Jan 31, 2011 09:09am
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1