The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2011, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
In the OP, you have a runner obstructed between first and second base. She cannot be called out between first and second (unless she commits some other violation). Other than an intervening play on another runner, there is no "waiving off" of this protection. The runner "giving up" and beginning to return to first has ZERO effect on her protection.
To clarify slightly what Mike is saying here. There is one case where the runner getting back (not starting back) to first effects her protection. And that is the case of the intervening play. If a runner gets to the protected base (1st in this case) and then the defense plays on another runner, the protection from obstruction is over.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm
Is it obstruction or not? JRSooner Baseball 2 Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm
Obstruction sprivitor Softball 16 Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1