![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Thanks guys, guess deep down I knew I was wrong, else I wouldn't have asked.
YoungUmp, does your comment mean that she can actually go back and touch 1B, and still trot to 2nd as long as no other play is made (& ball is not in circle)? |
|
|||
Absolutely.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
There are three keys to getting obstruction right. One figure out the right award. You have to make it at the time of the obstruction based on what happens then. If she had not been obstructed based on what has happened in the play, where would she have reached. Two, unless it's one of the specific exceptions, the runner is protected between the bases where she was obstructed AND to the base you are awarding. Three, if the runner is put out while protected, kill the ball immediately. Award the obstructed runner the protected base and all other runners the bases you think they were going to obtain if you hadn't killed it. So in your play. The award was first. Because that's as far as she was getting. Move to step 2. Acquiring the protected base is not one of the specific exceptions [nor were any others present]. Move to step 3. The runner was put out between the bases where obstructed so she is protected. Award first base. In my variation lets put a runner on third who tries to go home in the confusion, seeing the runner go home the runner who has retreated all the way to first runs to second where she is tagged out. The award was first. Running back to first (the awarded base) and having a play on the runner going from third to home is an exception. Do not proceed to step 3. Runner is out keep the ball live. (Until the coach comes out to argue and then you can explain that this is an exception.) Last edited by youngump; Tue Sep 20, 2011 at 05:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
That said, YU's 1-2-3 steps is going to get you through an obstruction call 99% of the time. I believe I've waived off obstruction twice in my entire career - one was missing a base, the other passed another runner. The exception above in YU's scenario has never happened while I was on the field, although it DID happen in a championship game I watched - and the blues (of course) got it right and managed to not eject anyone.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Although not all sanctions say make the award decision at the OBS moment, rather after seeing the result of the OBS on the full run by the runner.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
It only took years of him getting it wrong to finally get it right.
Actually, he did this one all on his own. I am proud, actually. ![]()
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
In other words, she is "awarded" or "protected to" the base you feel she would have attained absent the obstruction. In addition, she can not be called out between the bases. So if you don't feel she would have made 2nd base safely and she gets tagged out between 1st and 2nd - you can't call her out, but you can't give her second so............. ![]() |
|
|||
She is. What's your question?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 6 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm |
obstruction | scyguy | Baseball | 7 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm |
NSA / Obstruction | Bandit | Softball | 4 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm |
Is it obstruction or not? | JRSooner | Baseball | 2 | Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm |
Obstruction | sprivitor | Softball | 16 | Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:46am |