The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 09, 2011, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Are you assuming F3 would not have caught the throw on the fair/white side if it was accurate?
Not our job to assume anything. The bottom line is that F3 didn't maintain contact with the white base, and is now rewarded by getting an out anyway.

This is now a play on ASA website because it constitutes a change in how to call this play. The prior regime (that was involved in writing the rule, and grasped the full intent, directed by the now Commisioner from the Richmond, VA area, HP) stated that this wasn't an out, that only a throw that drew that defender completely into foul territory could THEN result in the defender returning to the nearer (foul/contrast) bag to accomplish the mission of the "safety" base (not crossing over the runner's path).

This change doesn't support the intent of safety; it rewards the defense with a double sized base on the batter-runner, even when the double sized base doesn't come into effect until after the batter-runner passes the base when a play is being made.

But, the person making that ruling has that authority; so it is now the new ruling.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1