| 
			
			 
			
				Fri Sep 09, 2011, 10:16am
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2002 Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE) 
						Posts: 6,425
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by tcannizzo  Play:   With two outs and R1 on 2B, B4 hits a  ground  ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and throws high to 1B. F3 jumps  up and catches  F6’s throw and the throw takes F3 onto the contrasting  color of the base. F3  only touches the contrasting color of the base  before B4 reaches 1B.  Is B4 out?Ruling: Since the throw from F6 was an  errant throw,  that in the opinion of the umpire took F3 to the  contrasting color of the base,  the batter-runner would be out.  (Rule 8, Section 2M [5]:On  an errant  throw pulling the defense off the white portion of the base  into foul ground,  the defense and the batter-runner can use either the  white or contrasting  portion. If the umpire judged the throw took F3 to  the contrasting color  portion of the base that is in foul ground, then  F3 can use either portion of  the base. Note the throw does not have to  take F3 beyond the contrasting color  of the base to be considered to  have pulled the defense into foul ground.)
 =============================================
 Why is the defense rewarded for an error?
 
 |  Are you assuming F3 would not have caught the throw on the fair/white side if it was accurate?
		 
				__________________Officiating takes more than OJT.
 It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
 |