The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
they had a breakdown earlier in the game with the bases loaded. fly ball to left, runners tag. lf throws home to catcher who throws to 3rd base to try to get runner from 2nd. 3bu went out on the fly and no one covered 3rd base.

not good.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
oh, oh.....

Now after pointing out and repeating how he just blew a call, Female TH remembers to send a "special greeting" to U1's daughter on her 113th birthday...

Am I making this up?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:07pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
What about the batter receiving an additional 2 pitches before the umpires realized their mistake and awarded the batter 1st base from this play. These umpires un-rung the bell at the highest level. WOW!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
On the fly ball tag up, HP couldn't stay at 3B because U1 wasn't covering HP. If you watch the replay, you can catch U1 only about 1/2 way down the line as R3 scores. No way he was in position to make a call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
On the fly ball tag up, HP couldn't stay at 3B because U1 wasn't covering HP. If you watch the replay, you can catch U1 only about 1/2 way down the line as R3 scores. No way he was in position to make a call.
With bases loaded, there is no rotation of U1 home. And if U3 chased, then U1 should have a return throw to 3B.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 25, 2011, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
4-man. U1 is not going to 3B.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
4-man. U1 is not going to 3B.
Ahhh. Didn't realize it was 4-umpires. Still, U1 isn't rotating home, correct?
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 268
The call at first was brutal but not as bad as the one against Japan the other night. The sliding into first base apparently must make it tough to hear the ball and see exactly where the runner's hands are. I know that you have to be a great umpire to work at this level so even the good ones can have bad calls.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2011, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
With bases loaded, there is no rotation of U1 home. And if U3 chased, then U1 should have a return throw to 3B.
Thanks for the morning chuckle.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 29, 2011, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
they had a breakdown earlier in the game with the bases loaded. fly ball to left, runners tag. lf throws home to catcher who throws to 3rd base to try to get runner from 2nd. 3bu went out on the fly and no one covered 3rd base.

not good.
I give her credit for recognizing the situation and making the only possible call.
In ISF or other 4 ump, does the U2 cover the base if the U3 goes out?

BTW, what was with the mix of ISF/ASA logos?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 29, 2011, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I give her credit for recognizing the situation and making the only possible call.
In ISF or other 4 ump, does the U2 cover the base if the U3 goes out?

BTW, what was with the mix of ISF/ASA logos?
Don't work alot of 4 man, but my understanding is that U2 goes out on all fly balls except on the line (this ball was pretty much directly to F7) While U3 did recognize the situation, i think the 1st mistake was her going out in the first place.

As for the mix in logos? I was told it was because ISF has a back log (one might say lack of money and ordering) in logo equipment, and the ones that did not have full gear when they got the assignment were told to wear their ASA logo stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 02, 2011, 04:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
@CecilOne
in ISF 4MS if U3 goes out, HP will be responsible for the call at 3B (and U1 will go home after the release of the BR). U2 will only cover 2B.

@okla21fan
U2 goes out on all flyballs but those between the F7 or F9 and the foulline.

Raoul
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 02, 2011, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach3 View Post
@CecilOne
in ISF 4MS if U3 goes out, HP will be responsible for the call at 3B (and U1 will go home after the release of the BR). U2 will only cover 2B.
Given the scenario (bases loaded) I have to disagree. I you start a play with a runner at 2B or 3B, there should be no rotation.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 02, 2011, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
@Irish your were right for this situation. Sorry. I didn't read carefully enough - didn't recall the play at HP!

So, yes if HP goes back Home (from Holdingposition) U2 is the backfill for a secondary play at 3B. But if there is a play back at 3B HP as well as a first play at 3B. So there might be still a rotation if U3 goes out.

Raoul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOB, Did we handle this correctly hoosierref Basketball 6 Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:46pm
Was this done correctly? Teigan Basketball 6 Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:22am
MNF: Did I hear that correctly? OverAndBack Football 7 Tue Oct 11, 2005 02:11am
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm
Corrected correctly Hawks Coach Basketball 3 Mon Apr 28, 2003 06:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1