![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
If you determine that it was a case of mistaken numbers and that 41 should have been written as 44 (or however it worked out), make the correction and continue play with no penalty (ASA 3-6-D).
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
And even if it HAD been batting out of order, all advancement of runners on pitches that did not include the batter becoming a batter runner (hit, walk, etc.) would stand. The removal of the run was incorrect.
|
|
|||
|
1. While the incorrect batter is at bat:
EFFECT: The correct batter must take the batter’s position and assume any balls and strikes. Any runs scored or bases run while the incorrect batter was at bat shall be legal. There is no penalty whether discovered by the offense or defense while the incorrect batter is at bat. D.1. applies during the at bat. D.2. applies after completion of the at bat (when the batter becomes a runner or is retired). There is no retroactivity. Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers." Thomas Pynchon |
|
|||
|
Names take precedence over numbers.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Except that's not the key phrase here... it wasn't BOO.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But I thought if it was the incorrect batter that you would take away the run because it was the last out of the inning and even though the batter struck out the batting out of order was discovered before the infielders left fair territory. I thought it didn't matter which pitch it was to the batter, the run scored on a pass ball two pitches prior to the strikeout. It doesn't state in the rule book that the batter has to become a batter runner it states After the incorrect batter has completed a turn at bat. Any replies will help with my thought process. Last edited by Mass Ump; Tue Jul 12, 2011 at 02:50pm. |
|
|||
|
thank you
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batting out of order | k2316 | Baseball | 32 | Fri Apr 18, 2008 08:47pm |
| batting out of order | smoump | Baseball | 10 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:37am |
| Batting out of order | Roger Bridges | Softball | 2 | Wed Dec 29, 2004 08:15pm |
| batting order | mccann | Softball | 3 | Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:32pm |
| Batting out of order | WinterWillie | Softball | 4 | Mon May 10, 2004 09:28pm |