![]() |
|
|||
how would you call it
Dont know the rule set, but I was a spectator at a 64 team multi level tournament which was OBVIOUSLY NOT ASA, and was watching a great 12U game.
No one on, two out. I was standing about 200 ft down the 1st base line when I heard BALL 4 then "DEAD BALL." The ball passed the catcher and found the only hole in the backstop and went into dead ball. Next thing I know, the BR is being directed to 2nd base. I am standing with a parent I know and I am thinking. . THIS ISNT RIGHT.. . .(at least in my ASA understanding). Could this game possibly be decided on this bad call (NO COACH ARGUMENT). It was the top of the 6th in a Quaterfinals game. The runner stole 3rd and was batted in (the home team eventually won it in the 7th) Is there any rule set that would have allowed the BR to advance to 2nd? |
|
|||
If memory serves, Dixie was 2 bases in this sitch. But it's been a while... a long while.
Edit to add... if the level of ball was such that runner stole 3rd - don't you think runner would likely have stole 2nd on the first pitch. So while the call may be suspect (not knowing the rule code used here), I doubt it altered the game.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When the obvious call isn't the right call | Don Mueller | Baseball | 28 | Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |