![]() |
|
|
|||
As soon as F3 stepped on 1B to retire the Batter-Runner, R3 was no longer forced to 2B. The "right" play would have been to tag R3 then step on the bag.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
It was still the "right play". Whether or not I should expect a 7 year old to execute it is a whole 'nother can of worms. Heck, I knew plenty of 14 year olds who would probably not get it right, either.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Had that situation in a FHSAA 5A Regional semi-final playoff game a couple of years ago, and the defense tagged base and runner in the wrong order then, too.
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Quote:
Some very well coached 12U teams MIGHT take the force @ third w/ runners on first and second and a ball hit back to the pitcher. Some poorly coached [or brain dead pitchers] still just turn left and throw to first removing force plays, removing IF, placing 2 runners in scoring position. W/ bases loaded, everyone seems more in tune with getting the force at home, but the force at third is almost rare.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base | NCASAUmp | Softball | 20 | Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am |
Free Throw occupation | phansen | Basketball | 4 | Mon Nov 17, 2008 03:36pm |
Lane occupation | justshutup | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 13, 2007 05:21am |
lane space occupation | refnrev | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 08, 2004 02:04pm |
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here | Tap | Softball | 9 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm |