The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   occupation of base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/71586-occupation-base.html)

justcallmeblue Sun Jun 05, 2011 09:04pm

occupation of base
 
Question: Where to find the rule in the rulebook that can get the answer to the following sit. This may be real simple and I just blew it after 7 hrs of umpiring.

This is a RECREATION game. The kids are in 1st and 2nd grade. There is NO INFIELD FLY RULE. There is "coach pitch" however once the coach touches the ball it is dead

Sit: Bases Loaded NO outs.

Batter pops up to 1B about 2 feet from first base. R3 on 1st starts to run, but is called back by the coach because the coach thinks the ball is going to be caught. R3 returns and is standing on first base. 1B, however, drops the fly ball then picks it up and steps on first base before the BR reaches 1B. Note: R3 who has retreated to first, is standing on 1st when 1B steps on 1st. There is no tag applied to R3 and 1B returns the ball to the Coach (now a dead ball).

Whats the call (or is there even a call) on R3?

tcannizzo Sun Jun 05, 2011 09:20pm

R3 is safe on 1B.
Even if R3 was tagged after BR was retired, if she was standing on 1B at the time, she would still be safe.

JefferMC Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:06am

As soon as F3 stepped on 1B to retire the Batter-Runner, R3 was no longer forced to 2B. The "right" play would have been to tag R3 then step on the bag.

CecilOne Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 763625)
As soon as F3 stepped on 1B to retire the Batter-Runner, R3 was no longer forced to 2B. The "right" play would have been to tag R3 then step on the bag.

You would think kids in 1st and 2nd grade would understand that. :rolleyes: ;)

JefferMC Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:16am

It was still the "right play". Whether or not I should expect a 7 year old to execute it is a whole 'nother can of worms. Heck, I knew plenty of 14 year olds who would probably not get it right, either.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 763626)
You would think kids in 1st and 2nd grade would understand that. :rolleyes: ;)

If only that were true!

Some very well coached 12U teams MIGHT take the force @ third w/ runners on first and second and a ball hit back to the pitcher.

Some poorly coached [or brain dead pitchers] still just turn left and throw to first removing force plays, removing IF, placing 2 runners in scoring position.

W/ bases loaded, everyone seems more in tune with getting the force at home, but the force at third is almost rare.

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 06, 2011 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 763542)
Whats the call (or is there even a call) on R3?

This one's kind of easy - no call on R3. I worry, however, since you posted it and think you missed something... that something else was called. I've not read below yet.

argodad Mon Jun 06, 2011 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 763632)
It was still the "right play". Whether or not I should expect a 7 year old to execute it is a whole 'nother can of worms. Heck, I knew plenty of 14 year olds who would probably not get it right, either.

Had that situation in a FHSAA 5A Regional semi-final playoff game a couple of years ago, and the defense tagged base and runner in the wrong order then, too.

justcallmeblue Tue Jun 07, 2011 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 763661)
This one's kind of easy - no call on R3. I worry, however, since you posted it and think you missed something... that something else was called. I've not read below yet.

Actually, i thought I blew the call for some odd reason. I think I just had simultaneous occupation and couldnt get it out of my head!!! I was going on my 7th hour!!

celebur Tue Jun 07, 2011 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 763826)
Actually, i thought I blew the call for some odd reason. I think I just had simultaneous occupation and couldnt get it out of my head!!! I was going on my 7th hour!!

There's no rule against "simultaneous occupation"; if two runners are occupying the same base, one of them is in jeopardy, and the defense can't get the out without playing on the runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1