The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 05, 2011, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 58
occupation of base

Question: Where to find the rule in the rulebook that can get the answer to the following sit. This may be real simple and I just blew it after 7 hrs of umpiring.

This is a RECREATION game. The kids are in 1st and 2nd grade. There is NO INFIELD FLY RULE. There is "coach pitch" however once the coach touches the ball it is dead

Sit: Bases Loaded NO outs.

Batter pops up to 1B about 2 feet from first base. R3 on 1st starts to run, but is called back by the coach because the coach thinks the ball is going to be caught. R3 returns and is standing on first base. 1B, however, drops the fly ball then picks it up and steps on first base before the BR reaches 1B. Note: R3 who has retreated to first, is standing on 1st when 1B steps on 1st. There is no tag applied to R3 and 1B returns the ball to the Coach (now a dead ball).

Whats the call (or is there even a call) on R3?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
Free Throw occupation phansen Basketball 4 Mon Nov 17, 2008 03:36pm
Lane occupation justshutup Basketball 11 Tue Feb 13, 2007 05:21am
lane space occupation refnrev Basketball 8 Wed Dec 08, 2004 02:04pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1