The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: Did ASA luck out. Was that interference in your opinion?
Yes 10 41.67%
No 14 58.33%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
12.9.7
The base runner is out:
When she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball...

I also agree with RKB. The runner stopped in front of F6 then took off.
I'm afraid that's not good enough. You'll need to cite the INT rule for 12.9.7 to work here.

Last edited by topper; Fri May 27, 2011 at 08:54am. Reason: missing 't'
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Live Free or Die Country
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to CelticNHBlue
I have no INT:

1 - runner appears to be aware of the SS and (IMO) is attempting to avoid her and the ball (apparently successfully), she is not intentionally stopping to hinder the SSs view of the ball

2 - SS plays the ball timidly and not aggressively, IMO she elected to play the ball at a location that took her behind the runners path (as opposed to charging through the runners path), because of this the runner did not impact the ability of the fielder to play the ball
__________________
Wade Ireland
Softball Umpire
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by CelticNHBlue View Post
I have no INT:

1 - runner appears to be aware of the SS and (IMO) is attempting to avoid her and the ball (apparently successfully), she is not intentionally stopping to hinder the SSs view of the ball
Does NCAA take into account intent or just the fact that she is hindering her view of the ball??

Quote:
2 - SS plays the ball timidly and not aggressively, IMO she elected to play the ball at a location that took her behind the runners path (as opposed to charging through the runners path), because of this the runner did not impact the ability of the fielder to play the ball
So penalize the SS for avoiding a collision caused by the baserunner being where she wants to go. Is there a "two for flinching" (in this case 2 runs) rule in NCAA ball?

Last edited by Snocatzdad; Fri May 27, 2011 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by txump81 View Post
12.9.7
The base runner is out:
When she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball...

I also agree with RKB. The runner stopped in front of F6 then took off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
I'm afraid that's not good enough. You'll need to cite the INT rule for 12.9.7 to work here.

Going by 12.19, this could be interference. Of course, it all comes down to the judgment of the umpires on the field. The ball appeared to be playable, and it could easily be argued that the runner denied the defender the opportunity to make a play on the ball. But, it can also be argued that the fielder just muffed what should have been a routine play. Apparently, that is how the umpires working the game felt.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Going by 12.19, this could be interference.
What part of 12.19 leads you to believe this could be INT?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2011, 04:58pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Try to visualize this play from from the 3rd base umpire's view. I did not have interference per rule 12.19.1.4.2.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
2010 and 2011 NCAA SOFTBALL RULES AND INTERPRETATIONS

12.19.1.4.2 Merely running in front of the fielder or jumping over the
ball while proceeding to the next base is not interference, even
though it may be distracting to the fielder or screen her view of the
ball. The runner may not at any time unnecessarily wave her arms
or verbally distract the fielder.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
12-9-7 ... if she'd not intentionally stopped in front of the fielder, I have nothing... it was the stop (or intentional slow down at minimum) that leads me to calling INT here. .
Just to save me from typing it again:
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
I'm afraid that's not good enough. You'll need to cite the INT rule for 12.9.7 to work here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Just to save me from typing it again:
I know you have more experience than me with this rule-set. Maybe instead of just saying we're wrong you can explain why. It appears to me that this runner was not "merely running in front of the fielder", but rather slowed intentionally to make the play more difficult. I see the other side of it, and realize it's judgement - but if the umpire on the spot agreed with me ... would it still not be interference?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
I'll paraphrase 12.19.1.4.2...

Merely running in front of the fielder or jumping the ball is not interference.

It is the stop in front if the fielder that gets the INT in my judgement.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Isn't that what I said, yet am being told I'm wrong?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
I don't think she actually stopped in front of F6. She took two fast steps off the bag on the pitch, then slowed to see where the ball was going. Since F6 was in her way, she made a couple of shuffle steps towards 3B--granted staying in the vicinity of where F6 should field the ball--but avoided contact with the ball and the fielder.

I suppose the case could be made that she could have given F6 a wider berth, but unless the NCAA wants to start putting a clear-zone in feet/inches the runner has to avoid...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
I will throw something else out there....

The level of ball is probably something to be considered as well.

Would this play be interference at 12u or 14u - almost certainly

16u or 18u - maybe....

NCAA - almost never.

I do not have near the NCAA experience that some do, but one of the things I have been told is that at that level, contact is almost always required for an interference call. The coaches know this and they coach runners to get as close as possible short of contact hoping for exactly what happened in the game.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2011, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I know you have more experience than me with this rule-set. Maybe instead of just saying we're wrong you can explain why. It appears to me that this runner was not "merely running in front of the fielder", but rather slowed intentionally to make the play more difficult. I see the other side of it, and realize it's judgement - but if the umpire on the spot agreed with me ... would it still not be interference?
The runner is required to avoid the runner and being hit by the ball. If in doing this, which is what I saw last night, she slows down and blocks the view of the fielder, so be it. The book doesn't say how fast a runner must be going when passing in front of the fielder.

This was a case of the ss needing to move to the ball regardless of the runner so that the runner can't avoid her or she simply makes the play. If she does that, it would be A&M up 1-0.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas - Texas A&M Skahtboi Softball 32 Sun Aug 21, 2011 06:45am
Texas T dragonref Basketball 15 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:01am
Texas vs Texas Tech Play carldog Basketball 7 Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm
Texas/Texas Tech officials johnSandlin Basketball 4 Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1