The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2003, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
That play is specifically covered in at least one case book, and the ruling is that the catch at 1B is legal. If F3 catches the glove/ball in time, the batter-runner is out.

However, I can't seem to find the specific citation. I'll keep looking, or maybe somebody else will cite it.

I know I saw that very play on TV in a MLB game. Of course, that doesn't mean it's legal in softball, but I think it is anyway.

[Edited by greymule on Jan 5th, 2003 at 01:05 PM]
ASA 2002 Casebook covers in with Play 8.2.5. As long the the fielder making the put-out has control of the glove and ball, the player would be ruled out.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1