The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Question? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/6830-question.html)

lildani14 Sun Jan 05, 2003 12:11pm

Hey everyone. I'm 17 years old and I've been umpiring for the past two years. I've been playing since I was 9. I've got a question.

Hard ground ball hit back to the pitcher. The ball becomes lodged in the pitchers glove. Can the pitcher just throw the glove and ball to the first baseman to make the out. One of my friends says you can't throw the glove. I say you can.

SWFLguy Sun Jan 05, 2003 12:22pm

I've been doing softball since 1957, I see no rule against it !
In fact (if my memory serves me) I saw it happen once !
One time I saw a guy bunt in FP by tossing the bat at the
pitch--- there was no double hit, and I made a no call,
which I believe is correct.Sometimes you see some funny stuff
that is not in rule books, etc.
Have a great 2003 !

greymule Sun Jan 05, 2003 01:44pm

That play is specifically covered in at least one case book, and the ruling is that the catch at 1B is legal. If F3 catches the glove/ball in time, the batter-runner is out.

However, I can't seem to find the specific citation. I'll keep looking, or maybe somebody else will cite it.

I know I saw that very play on TV in a MLB game. Of course, that doesn't mean it's legal in softball, but I think it is anyway.

[Edited by greymule on Jan 5th, 2003 at 01:05 PM]

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jan 05, 2003 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
That play is specifically covered in at least one case book, and the ruling is that the catch at 1B is legal. If F3 catches the glove/ball in time, the batter-runner is out.

However, I can't seem to find the specific citation. I'll keep looking, or maybe somebody else will cite it.

I know I saw that very play on TV in a MLB game. Of course, that doesn't mean it's legal in softball, but I think it is anyway.

[Edited by greymule on Jan 5th, 2003 at 01:05 PM]

ASA 2002 Casebook covers in with Play 8.2.5. As long the the fielder making the put-out has control of the glove and ball, the player would be ruled out.


whiskers_ump Sun Jan 05, 2003 08:18pm

SWFLguy wrote:
<b>"One time I saw a guy bunt in FP by tossing the bat at the
pitch--- there was no double hit, and I made a no call,
which I believe is correct."</b>

The closest ruling for this would be ASA CaseBook Play 7.6-3.
This ruling is for an illegally batted ball, but if batter
had feet in box according to rules, then if ball fair, play
on is the way I read it.

Of course if I am wrong, someone will straighten me out. :D

glen




whiskers_ump Sun Jan 05, 2003 08:21pm

Mike wrote:
"<b>ASA 2002 Casebook covers in with Play 8.2.5. As long the the fielder making the put-out has control of the glove and ball, the player would be ruled out."</b>

ASA CaseBook Play 1-16A could also apply - reading between the
lines.

glen

Elaine "Lady Blue" Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:35pm

Since none of the guys said it--------
"Welcome LilDani14"
Can we know your name? I think it is very commendable for a 17 year old to umpiring. It's got to be hard to deal with the coaches and parents.
Keep on posting, we'll all be glad to help you!

Steve M Tue Jan 07, 2003 04:45am

Elaine is right, Lildani. We did all seem to forget that. Welcome.

Steve M

whiskers_ump Tue Jan 07, 2003 07:31pm

OOOOOps,

Let me join that group greeting you http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/bigwave.gif. Glad to have
a new poster. Good luck in the upcoming season.

http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/papa.gif
glen



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1